W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > wai-xtech@w3.org > April 2012

Re: feedback on HTML to Platform Accessibility APIs Implementation Guide requested

From: Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 4 Apr 2012 11:14:42 +0100
Message-ID: <CA+ri+V=HBduZcFZ64Boa7HdR4M9ea42iUk78R3zq4wt2dLyGng@mail.gmail.com>
To: Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis <bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com>
Cc: Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Andi Snow-Weaver <andisnow@us.ibm.com>, W3C WAI-XTECH <wai-xtech@w3.org>, David Bolter <david.bolter@gmail.com>, Alexander Surkov <surkov.alexander@gmail.com>, Dominic Mazzoni <dmazzoni@google.com>, James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>, James Teh <jamie@nvaccess.org>, Cynthia Shelly <cyns@microsoft.com>, Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>, Char James-Tanny <char@jtfassociates.com>, Larry Weiss <lweiss@microsoft.com>
thanks ben have added your comments as a bug ccd you.

regards
steve

On 4 April 2012 10:34, Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis <bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com>wrote:

> On Wed, Apr 4, 2012 at 9:59 AM, Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
> wrote:
> > The AAPI task force are looking for feedback on what needs to be added to
> > the HTML to Platform Accessibility APIs Implementation Guide
> > http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/html-api-map/raw-file/tip/Overview.html
> > to make it as useful as possible  to browser and AT implementers.
> >
> > We realise that of the content we already have in there, there are still
> > many gaps to fill, but we also realise that the scope of information we
> > provide needs to be extended. We would appreciate your input in helping
> us
> > define that scope.
> >
> > any feedback you can provide would be appreciated
>
> Hey Steve
>
> I think one absolutely critical area to think about from an
> interoperability perspective is handling "interesting" markup
> combinations.
>
> For example, if you have an <li> that does not have a <ol>/<ul>
> parent, what does that get mapped to? Or, if you have an <li> that has
> a <ol>/<ul> parent, but the parent has a role attribute that maps it
> to (say) the "button" role, what does the <li> get mapped to?
>
> --
> Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis
>



-- 
with regards

Steve Faulkner
Technical Director - TPG

www.paciellogroup.com | www.HTML5accessibility.com |
www.twitter.com/stevefaulkner
HTML5: Techniques for providing useful text alternatives -
dev.w3.org/html5/alt-techniques/
Web Accessibility Toolbar - www.paciellogroup.com/resources/wat-ie-about.html
Received on Wednesday, 4 April 2012 10:15:41 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 13:16:16 GMT