W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > wai-xtech@w3.org > February 2009

Re: summary="" in HTML5 ISSUE-32

From: Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>
Date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 08:08:41 -0600
To: Matt Morgan-May <mattmay@adobe.com>
Cc: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, David Poehlman <poehlman1@comcast.net>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, "Gregory J. Rosmaita" <oedipus@hicom.net>, Leif Halvard Silli <lhs@malform.no>, James Graham <jgraham@opera.com>, Joshue O Connor <joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie>, Steve Axthelm <steveax@pobox.com>, Steven Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>, HTMLWG <public-html@w3.org>, "wai-xtech@w3.org" <wai-xtech@w3.org>, "wai-liaison@w3.org" <wai-liaison@w3.org>, "janina@rednote.net" <janina@rednote.net>, Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, W3C WAI Protocols & Formats <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>
Message-Id: <1235657321.7466.11149.camel@pav.lan>
On Wed, 2009-02-25 at 12:58 -0800, Matt Morgan-May wrote:
> On 2/25/09 12:07 PM, "Jonas Sicking" <jonas@sicking.cc> wrote:
> > On Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 12:03 PM, David Poehlman <poehlman1@comcast.net>
> > wrote:
> >> what is the difference between your paragraph and what we already have?  how
> >> would it improve on @summary?
> > 
> > The advantage is that the <p> is displayed to all users. Not just
> > users of AT clients.
> 
> From the HTML 4.01 spec [1]:
> 
> "summary = text [CS]
>     This attribute provides a summary of the table's purpose and structure
> for user agents rendering to non-visual media such as speech and Braille."
> 
> This needs to be stated as clearly as possible: @summary is not <caption>.
> There may be some overlap in the minds of HTML WG members, but my read is
> that no one on the PF side shares that opinion. (Please speak up if any of
> you disagree.) @summary serves a specific purpose: to offer a description of
> the visual and structural makeup of a table _specifically_ for the benefit
> of non-visual users.

That's the 2nd time in this thread that I've seen someone take issue
with the problem statement/goals. (the other
was Faulkner 24 Feb 2009 10:25:49 +0000).

Ian, I have seen your responses regarding some of the proposed
solutions, but not these points about the problem statement.

What do you think of the more constrained problem statement,
addressing "rendering to non-visual media such as speech
and Braille"?

> [1] http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/struct/tables.html#adef-summary
-- 
Dan Connolly, W3C http://www.w3.org/People/Connolly/
gpg D3C2 887B 0F92 6005 C541  0875 0F91 96DE 6E52 C29E
Received on Thursday, 26 February 2009 14:08:56 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 13:16:01 GMT