W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > wai-xtech@w3.org > February 2009

Re: summary="" in HTML5 ISSUE-32

From: Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
Date: Wed, 25 Feb 2009 12:20:15 -0800
Cc: David Poehlman <poehlman1@comcast.net>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, "Gregory J. Rosmaita" <oedipus@hicom.net>, Leif Halvard Silli <lhs@malform.no>, James Graham <jgraham@opera.com>, Joshue O Connor <joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie>, Steve Axthelm <steveax@pobox.com>, Steven Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>, HTMLWG <public-html@w3.org>, wai-xtech@w3.org, wai-liaison@w3.org, janina@rednote.net, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Matt Morgan-May <mattmay@adobe.com>, Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, W3C WAI Protocols & Formats <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>
Message-id: <13CAA7FA-1BBC-4FA9-A9A5-8135CEA3540B@apple.com>
To: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>

On Feb 25, 2009, at 11:37 AM, Jonas Sicking wrote:

>
> If we added an attribute like summaryfor="idOfTable" to the <p>, would
> that address all the problems you have with this proposed solution? Or
> adding a summaryIn="idOfPara" on the <table>. I'm not suggesting this
> as a solution, merely trying to understand your complaints with the
> <p> solution.

I believe ARIA already provides the markup to express this in a way  
that generalizes to all elements, namely aria-describedby.

Regards,
Maciej
Received on Wednesday, 25 February 2009 20:21:11 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 13:16:01 GMT