W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > wai-xtech@w3.org > February 2009

Re: summary="" in HTML5 ISSUE-32

From: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Date: Wed, 25 Feb 2009 11:48:33 -0500
To: William Loughborough <wloughborough@gmail.com>
Cc: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, David Poehlman <poehlman1@comcast.net>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, "Gregory J. Rosmaita" <oedipus@hicom.net>, Leif Halvard Silli <lhs@malform.no>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, James Graham <jgraham@opera.com>, Joshue O Connor <joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie>, Steve Axthelm <steveax@pobox.com>, Steven Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>, HTMLWG <public-html@w3.org>, wai-xtech@w3.org, wai-liaison@w3.org, janina@rednote.net, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Matt Morgan-May <mattmay@adobe.com>, Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, W3C WAI Protocols & Formats <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>
Message-ID: <20090225164833.GR21926@sonata.rednote.net>
William Loughborough writes:
> By leaving out the modifying clause "however, one does wonder why the
> resistance to something so obviously benefitial is so *strong*." you have
> done David a disservice. He was clearly "wondering" about resistance and not
> trying to use bad manners.
> 
> Your response is equally hard to "put up with" because it ignores a pretty
> obvious fact: there is resistance and it is strong.
> 

The question is how to get to a good end point? Allowing ourselves to
ascribe motives to others, even if it's true, doesn't help on the
current issue, nor on the next issue. At times like this, I find it
helpful to begin my comments with phrases like, "I think," or "I
believe," or "It seems to me we're going over the same arguments again
and again."

It's elementary discourse, of course. But, we should also remind
ourselves that we're likely not the only ones who notice. Thus, stooping
to the same tactics, diminishes our cause. It does not enhance it.

I am further concerned that much of this is coming from 
participants who only participate in our deliberations on list, who do
not show up on teleconferences or at face to face meetings. Surely one
would not expect a full understanding of the current situation from such
a partial view?

Janina

> Love.
> 
> On Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 7:29 AM, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net> wrote:
> 
> >
> > I will neither ignore nor put up with such statements.

-- 

Janina Sajka,	Phone:	+1.202.595.7777;
		sip:janina@CapitalAccessibility.Com
Partner, Capital Accessibility LLC	http://CapitalAccessibility.Com

Marketing the Owasys 22C talking screenless cell phone in the U.S. and Canada
Learn more at http://ScreenlessPhone.Com

Chair, Open Accessibility	janina@a11y.org	
Linux Foundation		http://a11y.org
Received on Wednesday, 25 February 2009 16:50:25 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 13:16:01 GMT