W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > July to September 2003

RE: Email blocked a word for 'accessible', that people get.

From: Michael Cooper <michaelc@watchfire.com>
Date: Fri, 25 Jul 2003 16:06:34 -0400
Message-ID: <D9ABD8212AFB094C855045AD80FB40DD017E0A52@1wfmail.watchfire.com>
To: w3c-wai-ig@w3.org

Hi - I apologize for the problem. Watchfire's IT department installed a spam
blocker without my knowledge, and it decided that all listserv email was
spam and sent that disconcerting message to anyone who posted to lists to
which I am subscribed. I didn't discover the problem until yesterday and was
not able to get it fixed until today. Hopefully, there will be no more such
messages from Watchfire. It was not an attempt to collect email addresses,
and it was not the case that we had identified either the list or anyone who
posts to the list as spammers. Actually, although my listservs were all
blocked, my real spam continued to get through, so the whole thing has been
an exercise in futility. :)


> -----Original Message-----
> From: David Woolley [mailto:david@djwhome.demon.co.uk]
> Sent: Friday, July 25, 2003 1:59 PM
> To: w3c-wai-ig@w3.org
> Subject: Re: Email blocked a word for 'accessible', that people get.
> > [Actually responding to spam is a foolish move because it 
> just proves 
> > that the address is live and encourages spammers to try 
> harder - the 
> That's why I didn't reply when I got one of these.  To me it 
> looked like
> Watchfire are trawling for valid email addresses.  If they are really
> legitimate, they need to use a much less spam like From: address.
Received on Friday, 25 July 2003 16:06:35 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 13 October 2015 16:21:25 UTC