W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > January to March 2001

an interesting question

From: Michael Burks <mburks952@worldnet.att.net>
Date: Fri, 5 Jan 2001 13:30:45 -0500
To: "Eitaac@Trace. Wisc. Edu" <eitaac@trace.wisc.edu>, "Aware-Advisors@Hwg. Org" <aware-advisors@hwg.org>, "Istf-Wg-Special-Needs" <istf-wg-special-needs@lyris.isoc.org>, "WAI Interest Group" <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>, "Ncits-V2@Nist. Gov" <ncits-v2@nist.gov>, "Isoc-Access-Discuss@Lyris. Isoc. Org" <isoc-access-discuss@lyris.isoc.org>
Message-ID: <LPBBLPHACJNEPNBELPGGKEANFHAA.mburks952@worldnet.att.net>
All,

below is a quote from the wall street journal, I wonder who has considered
the idea that this needs to be accessible to the largest audience possible?

Sincerely,

Mike Burks

[The Wall > Street Journal, B4.]  With the expansion of e-commerce comes the
growth of
> e-disputes, and Thursday a group of large companies plans to announce a
> new way to deal with conflicts between buyers and sellers.  Signing on to
> an "e-commerce protocol" drafted by the American Arbitration Association,
> a group of companies including AT&T, DaimlerChrysler and Microsoft, among
> others, say they want to incorporate dispute-resolution tools into the
> electronic-supply marketplaces that large companies increasingly expect
> their vendors to use.  William K. Slate II, the arbitration association's
> president, says disputes arise in 2% to 3% of business transactions, which
> in the electronic world could total $2 trillion this year.  Disputes
> typically involve the quality or condition of goods.  The document being
> released Thursday lists only vague principles, such as "fairness,"
> "continuity of business" and "commitment to technology."  But Slate says
> his organization, a 75-year-old nonprofit that administers nearly 150,000
> cases annually, will be rolling out over the coming months "proprietary"
> technologies that will make it possible to resolve disputes quickly.
Received on Friday, 5 January 2001 13:30:37 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 19 July 2011 18:13:53 GMT