W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > July to September 1999

size of check boxes answers

From: David Poehlman <poehlman@clark.net>
Date: Thu, 12 Aug 1999 08:54:33 -0400
Message-ID: <37B2C409.AB3F7BBC@clark.net>
To: WAI Interest Group <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>
I sent a quirie and here is what the results of it were.  I saw none
of the answers here so either noone from here sent answers or they
were sent directly.  I'd imagine we'll need to deal with this for vi
folks.
Thanks!

From:    Ian Sealy <Ian.Sealy@bristol.ac.uk>
Subject: SUMMARY: Size of checkboxes

I got a flood of replies - thanks to everyone who responded. Here's a
summary:

The best solution for me came from Petra Visser
<petra.visser@berlin.de>
and Tom Zorde <tom.zorde@flexiplan.com> who suggested:

<INPUT type="checkbox" name="name" style="HEIGHT: 25px; WIDTH: 25px">

It only works in IE5, but that's not a problem for me because it's an
internal form that only one person uses and so I can control what
browser she uses. A side effect in Navigator 4 seems to be that you
get
a line break before any text that follows the checkbox.

Tom Mallard <mallard@mallard-design.com>, Tim <tnuc@sunink.com> and
Ron
Woodall <nor@htmlcompendium.org> also suggested style sheets.

Simon Harper <zzalszsh@fs1.mcc.ac.uk> suggested using an accesskey <
http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/interact/forms.html#adef-accesskey >,
but this isn't suitable for my form because there are over 170
checkboxes on it.

Svante Pettersson <swepett@netch.se> suggested trying

<FONT SIZE="+2"><INPUT TYPE="CHECKBOX" NAME="NAME"
VALUE="VALUE"></FONT>

but I couldn't get this to work. jim barchuk <jb@jbarchuk.com>, Dean
Mehling <DMEHLING@kumc.edu> and Ron Woodall <nor@htmlcompendium.org>
also suggested this, but all said they weren't sure if it would work.
Colin Cochrane <colin@griffin.multimedia.edu> suggested increasing the
browser's default font size, but this didn't work for me in Navigator
4,
IE4 or IE5.

Paroz Claude <paroz@email.ch> sent me a JavaScript method involving
image replacement (an image of a big unchecked box gets replaced by an
image of a big checked box). I'll send the example to anyone who wants
it.

Alex Fung <Alex.Fung.Ho-san@graduate.hku.hk> suggested using a <div>
with a border to represent a box and then using a tick (<font
face="Webdings">a</font>) and a space to represent the two states,
which
could be manipulated with onclick.

Jeff Howden <c4wd@triax.com> pointed me to <
http://www.triax.com/~c4wd/intrica/index.html?purchase.html > which
uses
JavaScript to make the text next to a checkbox clickable. s t e f
( n o t a b e n e ) <stef@notabene.claranet.fr> pointed out that the
same thing can be done using the label element <
http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/interact/forms.html#edef-LABEL >.
David
R. Miller <dmiller@mcc.ca> suggested the same thing, but didn't say
how
he'd done it.

Thanks to everyone for their help.

Cheers,
Ian

--
Dr Ian Sealy
Technical Officer
Institute for Learning and Research Technology
University of Bristol
Received on Thursday, 12 August 1999 09:01:42 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 5 February 2014 07:13:33 UTC