W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > July to September 1999

Re: Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese Internet

From: Francisco Godinho <f.godinho@mail.telepac.pt>
Date: Sat, 3 Jul 1999 02:13:14 +0100
To: <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>
Cc: <IIDisab@aol.com>, "EBU - Yannis Vardakastanis" <pab@hol.gr>, "EBU - Vladislav Stepanov" <oussik@iptklogos.msk.su>, "EBU - Vaclav Polasek" <sons_zahr@braillnet.cz>, "EBU - TC Reflector" <tc-l@mvblind.uni-linz.ac.at>, "EBU - Stephane Hagues" <hagues@ceciaa.com>, "EBU - Salvatore Romano" <inter@uiciechi.it>, "EBU - Rudolf Volejnik" <volejnik@braillnet.cz>, "EBU - Roger Hoffmann" <roger.hoffmann@handitel.lu>, "EBU - Regina Hetteger" <regina.hetteger@sbg.ac.at>, "EBU - Pascale Isel" <pascaleisel@worldnet.fr>, "EBU - ONCE" <rrii@once.es>, "EBU - Norbert Mueller" <dbbw@stepnet.de>, "EBU - Monica Loland-Andersen" <mla@dkblind.dk>, "EBU - Mette Rothe" <mr@dkblind.dk>, "EBU - John Gill" <jgill@rnib.org.uk>, "EBU - Johanna Sevonen" <jose@srf.iris.se>, "EBU - Jaap van Lelieveld" <jaap.van.lelieveld@inter.nl.net>, "EBU - FSA" <arnold.schneider@sbv-fsa.ch>, "EBU - Fouad Hassoun" <fahassoun@handialog.com>, "EBU - Fernando Valiente" <fvaliente@avh.asso.fr>, "EBU - Fabio Ferrero" <master@uiciechi.it>, "EBU - Eva Papst" <epapst@ccc.at>, "EBU - Erik Staaf" <erst@srf.iris.se>, "EBU - Deutscher Blindenverband" <dbvbonn@t-online.de>, "EBU - Desmond Kenny" <ncbi@iol.ie>, "EBU - Damien Mauduit" <damien@eurobraille.fr>, "EBU - Christian Coudert" <chcoudert@avh.asso.fr>, "EBU - Branislav Mamojka" <mamojka@cetis.savba.sk>, "EBU - Boussaid" <EBU_UEA@compuserve.com>, "EBU - Bernhard Stoeger" <bernhard@mvblind.uni-linz.ac.at>, "EBU - Baum" <baum@wanadoo.fr>, "EBU - Arvo Karvinen" <anu.kaivonen@kt.nkl.fi>, "EBU - Arvo Karvinen" <vp.rantanen@kt.nkl.fi>, "EBU - Amalia Giakoumakis" <inja@wanadoo.fr>, "EBU - Alain Stroinski" <astroinski@avh.asso.fr>, "EBU - ACAPO - Jorge Fernandes" <dn@acapo.pt>, "Alexis Donnelly" <Alexis.Donnelly@cs.tcd.ie>, "Ricardo Silva" <rsilva@pobox.com>, "IBM - SNS - Jim Thatcher" <thatch@us.ibm.com>, "IBM - SNS - Phill Jenkins" <pjenkins@us.ibm.com>, "Microsoft - David A. Bolnick" <davebo@microsoft.com>, "Microsoft - Gary M. Moulton" <garymo@microsoft.com>, "NCAM - Geoff Freed" <Geoff_Freed@wgbh.org>, "NCAM - Larry Goldberg" <Larry_Goldberg@wgbh.org>, "Sun - Earl Jonhson" <earl.johnson@eng.sun.com>, "Waddell, Cynthia" <cynthia.waddell@ci.sj.ca.us>, "Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y R." <sinarmaya@mx3.redestb.es>, "Javier Romañach" <jromanac@dial.eunet.es>, "Dolphin - Neill McBride" <support@dolphinaccess.com>, "Luis Azevedo" <pclma@alfa.ist.utl.pt>, "Sylvie Duchateau" <sduchate@hall.snv.jussieu.fr>
Message-ID: <01bec4f1$3a094100$a3a741c2@Host.telepac.pt>
Hello again

Following the Portuguese Parliament recommendations
concerning the Petition for the Accessibility of the
Portuguese Internet, the President of the Portuguese
 Mission for the Information Society (in representation
of the Minister of Science and Technology) announced
today (July, 2), in meeting held in Lisbon (Portugal) with
the representatives of the European Blind Union,
WAI (Charles McCathieNevile ), PASIG and the
Portuguese National Rehabilitation Secretary that,
during this month, the Govern will approve a
Ministry Council resolution that will make mandatory
web accessibility to online information published
by the Portuguese government and public services.

During my speech I expressed a wish that during the
Portuguese Presidencies of the European Union Council
and Western European Union, that will take place during
the first semester of the year 2000
(http://www.min-nestrangeiros.pt/min-nestrangeiros/politica/ue2000/emolp.htm
l.en),
the Portuguese government take actions to stimulate
and promote similar measures in other European Countries.

With this in mind, maybe some of you could begin a
European strategy for web accessibility.

Regards
Francisco Godinho
Co-cordinator of the Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese
Internet.
GUIA/PASIG - Portuguese Accessibility Special Interest Group
http://www.acessibilidade.net/index_eng.html


-----Original Message-----
From: Francisco Godinho <f.godinho@mail.telepac.pt>
To: w3c-wai-ig@w3.org
Quinta-feira, 1 de Julho de 1999 19:20
Subject: Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese Internet

Hello all

Yesterday (30 of June), the Portuguese Parliament approved
the Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese Internet
as recommendation to the Government.

Now, the Portuguese Government should adopt the necessary
measures to guarantee full accessibility of government and public
services web information.

he Web Accessibility Initiate was mentioned in the parliament report.

Next week we will prepare a press release and the English translation of
the Portuguese Parliament position concerning web accessibility.

We would like to thank you all for your wonderful work and
in particular to the following friends:

Cynthia D. Waddell,  ADA Coordinator City of San Jose, CA   - USA
David Bolnick,  Microsoft  - USA
Earl Jonhson,  SUN Microsystems  - USA
Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo,   SIDAR  - Spain
Geoff Freed,   CPB/WGBH National Center for Accessible Media  - USA
Neill McBride,   Dolphin Computer Access - UK
Javier Romañach,   COCEMFE  - Spain
Phill Jenkins,  IBM Special Needs  - USA

We will also keep you informed on upcoming accessibility
initiatives originated from Portugal.


Regards

Francisco Godinho and Ricardo Silva
Coordinators of the Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese
Internet.
GUIA/PASIG - Portuguese Accessibility Special Interest Group
http://www.acessibilidade.net/index_eng.html


-----Original Message-----
From: Francisco Godinho <f.godinho@mail.telepac.pt>
To: w3c-wai-ig@w3.org; Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
Date: Quarta-feira, 17 de Fevereiro de 1999 0:48
Subject: Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese Internet


Hello Judy,

Tomorrow, February 17, PASIG (Portuguese Accessibility Special Interest
Group) will submit to the Portuguese Parliament the Petition for the
Accessibility of the Portuguese Internet.

The web accessibility discussion will be now at the Portuguese Parliament.

During 60 days (from 1998/12/03 to 1999/01/31) we collected 8,721 individual
signatures (we needed 4,000 to submit the Petition) and the support of 149
organizations.  During this period more than 800 web sites have been linked
to our homepage.

We believe (hope) that by June 1999, Web Accessibility could be law in
Portugal.

Could you update Portuguese Information in the "Policies Related to Web
Accessibility " ?

Thanks in advance
Francisco Godinho and Ricardo Silva
Coordinators of the Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese
Internet
http://www.acessibilidade.net/index_eng.html
Received on Friday, 2 July 1999 21:17:03 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 5 February 2014 07:13:33 UTC