W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > April to June 1999

thanks!

From: Robert Neff <rneff@moon.jic.com>
Date: Wed, 14 Apr 1999 22:18:31 -0700
Message-ID: <004f01be86ff$6a107b00$4b109cce@rneff.jic.com>
To: "IG" <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>
Cc: "jeffrey pledger" <jpledger@mindspring.com>, "Joe Roeder" <Jroeder@nib.org>, "David Poehlman" <poehlman@clark.net>, <ingram@prodworks.com>, <hakkinen@dev.prodworks.com>
Would like to thank David Poehlamn (Well known Maryland Developer!), Joe
Roeder (NIB), Jeff Pledger (Able Channel), and Ray Ingram and Mark Hakkinen
(Prodworks) for their support today.  We provided a session at the Federal
Depository Library Conference in Washington DC.  This was an outreach effort
to educate librarians on tools people with disabilities use to access the
internet and universal accessibility.  After the conference everyone we
continued to field questions and people wanting to learn more about
accessibility.

No matter how often we provide a presentation, we are always amazed how
people leave with a better understanding on browsers, design issues,
resources, and the obstacles PWDs face on the web.   These sessions are so
valuable to educate the population and to build upon the WAI "Grass Roots"
efforts.

Today's audience was the first time that we have passed out the WAI Quicktip
and Quicktip card.  We promoted WAI, Education and Outreach Group and the
Interest Group, Trace, CAST's Bobby, HTML Validator, and other efforts.  We
also exposed people to the environment and the tools.

We also would like to thank  Sheila M. McGarr, Chief, Depository Services
Library Programs Service, U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, DC
for inviting us to present at the conference.  She worked very hard with us
to coordinate this session and she had invited us because she had heard
about us through the grapevine.  She took a risk, not knowing what to
expect.  We are in her debt for the opportunity and I would like to thank
here for championing the WAI!

Very Truly,

Robert Neff
Intranet Project Manager
U.S.  Mint
Received on Wednesday, 14 April 1999 22:20:27 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 19 July 2011 18:13:43 GMT