W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > July to September 1998

Betsie Project Help Request

From: Wayne Myers-Education <wayne.myers@bbc.co.uk>
Date: Tue, 8 Sep 1998 15:35:38 +0100
Message-Id: <6B19A0B61B8CD111B8000000F8CB2DB0493C91@w12wcxu01.wc.bbc.co.uk>
To: "'w3c-wai-ig@w3.org'" <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>, "'Mark Prouse'" <MPROUSE@rnib.org.uk>, Damon Rose <rosed202@main.bbc.co.uk>, Gee-Kay Wong <gee-kay.wong.01@bbc.co.uk>
Cc: George Auckland-Education <george.auckland@bbc.co.uk>, Daniel Tagg-Education <daniel.tagg@bbc.co.uk>
Hi,

As some of you may know, I have for some time now been working on Betsie, an
accessibility project designed specifically to improve access to the BBC
Online suite of websites.

Betsie stands for BBC Education Text to Speech Internet Enhancer, which is a
roundabout way of saying 'HTML mangling gateway' - it removes images and
tables, does a couple of arcane things in order to deal with BBC specific
layout problems, and then serves you the page in an accessible form, with
all internal links pre-mangled so following them sends you through Betsie
too.

I am now entering the final stage of development with it, and have two
requests.

1 - Please test Betsie on the following URL and let me know what you think:

http://dev1.bbc.co.uk/education/access/

All comments / feedback /criticism etc on the latest version of Betsie will
be gratefully received; within reason I intend to incorporate as many
practical suggestions for improvement into the final version as I have time
for (and manage to get working).

2 - In order to demonstrate Betsie, I need to get hold of some screen
reading software. I have had a look and am somewhat bewildered both by the
price and the range of the various offerings out there. I would be very
grateful for any suggestions as to which screen reading package to go for.

I look forward to hearing your feedback. 

If those of you on the WAI mailing list want to email me directly on
wayne.myers@bbc.co.uk - I'll compile a digest of responses to post to the
list and save us all a bit of bandwidth (unless you all want to read each
others comments in detail, in which case, go ahead...)

Cheers etc.,

Wayne Myers
Received on Tuesday, 8 September 1998 10:35:52 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 19 July 2011 18:13:40 GMT