W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > January to March 1998

60 minutes = 20 years

From: William Loughborough <love26@gorge.net>
Date: Thu, 26 Mar 1998 15:44:40 -0800
Message-ID: <351AE868.EF1FD580@gorge.net>
To: "\"Patricia L. Price\"" <visionww@inetdirect.net>, "\"T. V. Cranmer\"" <tvc@iglou.com>, Abraham Nemeth 356-5353 <anemeth@ece.eng.wayne.edu>, Al Gilman <asgilman@access.digex.net>, Alan Myerson <almeatco@earthlink.net>, Allan <allan.dodds@THEFREE.NET>, Andrew Del Castillo <macro@leland.stanford.edu>, Ann Lewis <ann@skivs.ski.org>, Beezy Bentzen <bbentzen@MA.ULTRANET.COM>, "Beverly.Wieland@mvs.udel.edu" <Beverly.Wieland@mvs.udel.edu>, Cash Mirror <goatknol@teleport.com>, Charles Mayo <cemayo@tenet.edu>, Dona Sauerburger <sauerbgr@US.NET>, Donna Shore <dshore@lbl.gov>, Doug Baldwin <baldwin@CONCENTRIC.NET>, doug wakefield <wakefiel@access.digex.net>, garry goodrow <sinbadx@inch.com>, Gerald Weichbrodt <gweich01@ived.nec.gmeds.com>, Gregory Rosmaita <oedipus@hicom.net>, Hans Zoebelein <zocki@goldfish.cube.net>, jaap van lelieveld <Jaap.van.Lelieveld@inter.NL.net>, Jan Wheeler <jan19@sprynet.com>, Janina Sajka <janina@afb.org>, Jerry Kuns <jkuns@att.net>, Jim Gavin <MrForager@aol.com>, Jim Thatcher <thatch@us.ibm.com>, John Brabyn <brabyn@skivs.ski.org>, John Michael Harris <jmharr@PACIFIER.COM>, Josh Miele <jam@ear.Psych.Berkeley.EDU>, Judy Brewer <JBrewer@w3.org>, Jules Madey <Hillfox@taconic.net>, Jutta Treviranus <jutta.treviranus@utoronto.ca>, Kate Johnson <katejohnson@proaxis.com>, Kelly Ford <kford@teleport.com>, Larry Skutchan <larry@cleaf.com>, Linda Schulte <linda.schulte@idc-traffic.com>, Manfred Mackeben <mm@skivs.ski.org>, "Margosj@aol.com" <Margosj@aol.com>, "Markku T. Hakkinen" <hakkinen@dev.prodworks.com>, Maureen <maureen@skivs.ski.org>, Mike Cole <doroa.mcole@hw1.cahwnet.gov>, Mike Paciello <paciello@MA.ULTRANET.COM>, Nell Bailey <nbailey@resna.org>, Orientation and Mobility <OANDM@msu.edu>, Peter Meijer <meijer@NATLAB.RESEARCH.PHILIPS.COM>, Ree Dolloff <averil@CONCENTRIC.NET>, Richard Roehm <deaf@activist.com>, Roger Davenport <davenrs@why.net>, Russ Davenport <russelle@freewwweb.com>, Scott Luebking <phoenixl@netcom.com>, Stephanie Davenport <davense@airmail.net>, Steve Matzura <number6@interport.net>, susan mcfarland <susanfiber@internetwis.com>, Thomas Schmokel <ada_consultant@mail.istal.com>, Tom Dekker <dekker@CONCENTRIC.NET>, Tom Fowle <fowle@skivs.ski.org>, Tony Heyes <t.heyes@optometry.unimelb.edu.au>, "w3c-wai-ig@w3.org" <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>
As most of the recipients of this know I have been working for twenty
years on a project to provide orientation information to blind people. 
The system is called "Talking Signs" and there will be a segment that
shows them in use on the third segment (Lesley Stahl's) of Sixty Minutes
this Sunday, March 29th.  I don't know if this will be for 5 seconds or
what but in some strange way it seems like a closure that vindicates my
involvement.  If this is an inappropriate notification (I have a lot of
names in my address book, many of which have nothing to do with this
field so it's a bit like Spamming) I apologize but for some reason I am
proud.

If you find it comfortable to do so, please make this into a "phone
tree" and notify anyone who might be interested in this, particularly if
you run a list.
-- 
Love.
            ACCESSIBILITY IS RIGHT - NOT PRIVILEGE
http://dicomp.pair.com
Received on Thursday, 26 March 1998 18:48:58 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 19 July 2011 18:13:39 GMT