W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > January to March 2012

RE: HHS proposes use of WCAG 2.0 for Electronic Health Records

From: David MacDonald <david100@sympatico.ca>
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2012 13:56:13 -0400
Message-ID: <BLU0-SMTP84A5F92630685DBE7A2049FE580@phx.gbl>
To: "'Bailey, Bruce'" <Bailey@Access-Board.gov>, "'WCAG'" <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>
This is what is required by Canadian transportation providers also (except

David MacDonald

CanAdapt Solutions Inc.
  "Enabling the Web"

-----Original Message-----
From: Bailey, Bruce [mailto:Bailey@Access-Board.gov] 
Sent: March-13-12 1:46 PM
Subject: HHS proposes use of WCAG 2.0 for Electronic Health Records

Health Information Technology; Implementation Specifications, and
Certification Criteria: Electronic Health Record Technology, 2014 Edition
From: https://federalregister.gov/a/2012-4430

We believe that all patients should have an equal opportunity to access
their electronic health information without barriers or diminished
functionality or quality.  Thus, after consultation with the HHS Office for
Civil Rights and HHS Office on Disability and reviewing the efforts of other
Federal agencies, we propose that the viewing capability must meet Level AA
conformance with the most recent set of the Web Content Accessibility
Guidelines (WCAG).  Federal agencies are considering, or proposing to adopt,
WCAG 2.0 Level AA conformance for industries and technology they regulate.
The Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board (Access
Board) is considering applying WCAG 2.0 Level AA conformance to Federal
agencies and telecommunications accessibility, which apply to
telecommunication manufacturers.  The Department of Transportation is
proposing to require WCAG 2.0 Level AA conformance for air carrier Web sites
and airport kiosks.

The WCAG were developed through an open process by the World Wide Web
Consortium (W3C).  The most recent set of guidelines (WCAG 2.0) were
published in 2008 and are organized under 4 central principles with testable
"success criteria": Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, and Robust.  Each
guideline offers 3 levels of conformance: A, AA, and AAA.  Level A
conformance corresponds to the most basic requirements for displaying Web
content.  Level AA conformance provides for a stronger level of
accessibility by requiring conformance with Level A success criteria as well
as Level AA specific success criteria.  Level AAA conformance comprises the
highest level of accessibility within the WCAG guidelines and includes all
Level A and Level AA success criteria as well as success criteria unique to
Level AAA.  We are proposing compliance with Level AA because it provides a
stronger level of accessibility and addresses areas of importance to the
disabled community that are not included in Level A.  For example, success
criteria unique to Level AA include specifications of minimum contrast
ratios for text and images of text, and a requirement that text can be
resized without assistive technology up to 200 percent without loss of
content or functionality.  In addition to WCAG 2.0 Level AA conformance, we
are interested in whether commenters believe additional standards are needed
for certification to ensure accessibility for the viewing capability, such
as the User Agent Accessibility Guidelines (UAAG). Version 2.0 of the UAAG
is designed to align with WCAG 2.0, but is currently only in draft form.

If you want to comment, here is a direct link to the form:
Received on Tuesday, 13 March 2012 17:56:57 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 16 January 2018 15:34:09 UTC