W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > January to March 2007

RE: "commercial websites that have adopted symbolic based accessibility"

From: Andrew Kirkpatrick <akirkpat@adobe.com>
Date: Fri, 16 Mar 2007 08:23:10 -0700
Message-ID: <53744A0A1D995C459E975F971E17F56401E5FE07@namail4.corp.adobe.com>
To: "~:'' ありがとうございました。" <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>, "Slatin, John M" <john_slatin@austin.utexas.edu>
Cc: "lisa" <lisa@ubaccess.com>, "David MacDonald" <befree@magma.ca>, "Bailey, Bruce" <Bruce.Bailey@ed.gov>, "Loretta Guarino Reid" <lorettaguarino@google.com>, "Sofia Celic" <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, "Jan Dekelver" <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, "Chuck Hitchcock" <chitchcock@cast.org>, "Hiroshi Kawamura" <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, "Gez Lemon" <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, "Clayton Lewis" <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, "Gian Sampson-Wild" <gian@tkh.com.au>, "Keith Smith" <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, "Roberto Scano" <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, "Stephen Shore" <Tumbalaika@aol.com>, "Nancy Ward" <nward@thedesk.info>, "Paul Bowman" <pbowman@gmu.edu>, "John Slatin" <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, "Elbert Johns" <ejohns@thearclink.org>, "Gregg Vanderheiden" <gv@trace.wisc.edu>, "Michael Cooper" <cooper@w3.org>, "Judy Brewer" <jbrewer@w3.org>, "WCAG" <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>

> Yesterday I agreed a t a lunch meeting to file bug reports 
> with UA developers to provide a dialogue that enables Flash 
> to be disabled.
> When instituted this should meet some of your concerns 
> regarding Disney.

Jonathan, 
I'm a bit confused as to why you are perceiving this as a significant benefit.  Are you also advocating for a dialog to disable SVG?  Given that there has been and continues to be active work around accessible Flash I'm not sure if you aren't advocating for the wrong thing - in some cases developers to need to do additional work to ensure that solid keyboard access is available, but there is a good bit that can be had for free in Flash also, particularly when using the provided Flash UI components. 

AWK
Received on Friday, 16 March 2007 15:26:13 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:47:49 GMT