W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > January to March 2007

RE: Report on WCAG2 comments relating to cognitive, learning, and language disabilities

From: Slatin, John M <john_slatin@austin.utexas.edu>
Date: Wed, 14 Mar 2007 09:53:06 -0500
Message-ID: <6EED8F7006A883459D4818686BCE3B3B05B20113@MAIL01.austin.utexas.edu>
To: "Sean Hayes" <Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com>, "Hiroshi Kawamura" <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, "Hiroshi Kawamura" <hiroshi@kawamura.name>, "Loretta Guarino Reid" <lorettaguarino@google.com>, "Jonathan Chetwynd" <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>, "Sofia Celic" <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, "Jan Dekelver" <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, "Chuck Hitchcock" <chitchcock@cast.org>, "Gez Lemon" <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, "Clayton Lewis" <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, "Gian Sampson-Wild" <gian@tkh.com.au>, "Keith Smith" <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, "Roberto Scano" <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, "Lisa Seeman" <lisa@ubaccess.com>, "Stephen Shore" <Tumbalaika@aol.com>, "Nancy Ward" <nward@thedesk.info>, "Paul Bowman" <pbowman@gmu.edu>, "John Slatin" <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, "Elbert Johns" <ejohns@thearclink.org>
Cc: "Gregg Vanderheiden" <gv@trace.wisc.edu>, "Michael Cooper" <cooper@w3.org>, "Judy Brewer" <jbrewer@w3.org>, "Loretta Guarino Reid" <lorettaguarino@google.com>, "WCAG" <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>

I agree with Sean's point about prior need for understanding of iconic
representations.

But the emergency information needs to be delivered in ways that are
*perceivable* to everyone as well-- hence Hiroshi's point about multiple
simultaneous media.

John

"Good design is accessible design."

Dr. John M. Slatin, Director 
Accessibility Institute
University of Texas at Austin 
FAC 248C 
1 University Station G9600 
Austin, TX 78712 
ph 512-495-4288, fax 512-495-4524 
email john_slatin@austin.utexas.edu
Web http://www.utexas.edu/research/accessibility 



-----Original Message-----
From: Sean Hayes [mailto:Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com] 
Sent: Wednesday, March 14, 2007 3:26 AM
To: Hiroshi Kawamura; Hiroshi Kawamura; Loretta Guarino Reid; Jonathan
Chetwynd; Sofia Celic; Jan Dekelver; Chuck Hitchcock; Gez Lemon; Clayton
Lewis; Gian Sampson-Wild; Keith Smith; Roberto Scano; Lisa Seeman;
Stephen Shore; Nancy Ward; Paul Bowman; John Slatin; Elbert Johns
Cc: Gregg Vanderheiden; Michael Cooper; Judy Brewer; Loretta Guarino
Reid; WCAG
Subject: RE: Report on WCAG2 comments relating to cognitive, learning,
and language disabilities


This kind of messaging requires pre-awareness training, so that an
iconic representation will suffice when the emergency occurs.

Exit signs in buildings, air-raid sirens, police sirens etc. are all
instances of this. It's no good trying to work out what the message
means when you receive it - the response has to be Pavlovian and
immediate.


Sean Hayes
Standards and Policy Team
Accessible Technology Group
Microsoft
Phone:
  mob +44 7977 455002
  office +44 117 9719730

-----Original Message-----
From: w3c-wai-gl-request@w3.org [mailto:w3c-wai-gl-request@w3.org] On
Behalf Of Hiroshi Kawamura
Sent: 14 March 2007 00:01
To: Hiroshi Kawamura; Loretta Guarino Reid; Jonathan Chetwynd; Sofia
Celic; Jan Dekelver; Chuck Hitchcock; Gez Lemon; Clayton Lewis; Gian
Sampson-Wild; Keith Smith; Roberto Scano; Lisa Seeman; Stephen Shore;
Nancy Ward; Paul Bowman; John Slatin; Elbert Johns
Cc: Gregg Vanderheiden; Michael Cooper; Judy Brewer; Loretta Guarino
Reid; WCAG
Subject: Re: Report on WCAG2 comments relating to cognitive, learning,
and language disabilities


Dear all:

This is to supplement my contribution on "disaster use case".

When it comes to web-based early Tsunami warning or other disaster
warning system, accessibility and comprehension is crucial to protect
the lives of readers of the web contents. Just think about it is
streamed video contents with potentially dangerous area maps which is
not legible with tiny mobile phone screen. Everybody requires either
nonvisual alternatives or simplified graphics which is legible even on
the small screen that is associated by exact language for instruction to
the audiences in dangerous areas. The language part need to be as clear
as possible, e. g. YOU MUST EVACUATE TO A PLACE HIGHER THAN 20 METERS
FROM THE SEA LEVEL NOW! The sentence in capital letters above need to be
understood clearly and immediately. A "power card" type web contents
with synchronized audio and simple graphics will help everybody
including persons with cognitive disabilities, in this use case, need to
be accommodated by alternative graphical expression including symbols
such as "emergency exit" or "tsunami evacuation route". This is
applicable for Hurricane and other disasters, and of course cruicial for
survival of individuals with disabilities including cognitive
disabilities as well as people with different language and culture.

Best

Hiroshi

----- Original Message -----
From: "Loretta Guarino Reid" <lorettaguarino@google.com>
To: "Jonathan Chetwynd" <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>; "Sofia Celic"
<Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>; "Jan Dekelver" <jan.dekelver@khk.be>;
"Chuck Hitchcock" <chitchcock@cast.org>; "Hiroshi Kawamura"
<hkawa@rehab.go.jp>; "Gez Lemon" <gez.lemon@gmail.com>; "Clayton Lewis"
<clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>; "Gian Sampson-Wild" <gian@tkh.com.au>;
"Keith Smith" <k.smith@bild.org.uk>; "Roberto Scano"
<rscano@iwa-italy.org>; "Lisa Seeman" <lisa@ubaccess.com>; "Stephen
Shore" <Tumbalaika@aol.com>; "Nancy Ward" <nward@thedesk.info>; "Paul
Bowman" <pbowman@gmu.edu>; "John Slatin" <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>;
"Elbert Johns" <ejohns@thearclink.org>
Cc: "Gregg Vanderheiden" <gv@trace.wisc.edu>; "Michael Cooper"
<cooper@w3.org>; "Judy Brewer" <jbrewer@w3.org>; "Loretta Guarino Reid"
<lorettaguarino@google.com>; "WCAG" <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>
Sent: Monday, March 12, 2007 12:47 AM
Subject: Report on WCAG2 comments relating to cognitive, learning, and
language disabilities


> The attachment to this email contains a report on the proposed 
> responses to the comments received relating to cognitive, learning, 
> and language disabilities. We will be discussing these at our meeting 
> on Tuesday, March 13. Details on the meeting logistics will be sent in

> a separate message.
>
> Thanks,
> Loretta
>
Received on Wednesday, 14 March 2007 14:53:55 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:47:49 GMT