W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > January to March 2007

津 media-equivalence 波

From: ~:'' ありがとうございました。 <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2007 21:49:40 +0000
Message-Id: <C008547E-303E-4295-9AC0-3AF81B6709BB@btinternet.com>
Cc: Bruce Bailey <Bruce.Bailey@ed.gov>, lisa Seeman <lisa@ubaccess.com>, Loretta Guarino Reid <lorettaguarino@google.com>, Sofia Celic <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, Jan Dekelver <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, Chuck Hitchcock <chitchcock@cast.org>, Hiroshi Kawamura <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Clayton Lewis <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, Gian Sampson-Wild <gian@tkh.com.au>, Keith Smith <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, Roberto Scano <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, Stephen Shore <Tumbalaika@aol.com>, Nancy Ward <nward@thedesk.info>, Paul Bowman <pbowman@gmu.edu>, John Slatin <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, Elbert Johns <ejohns@thearclink.org>, Gregg Vanderheiden <gv@trace.wisc.edu>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, David MacDonald <befree@magma.ca>
To: WCAG <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>


listening to Hiroshi reminded me of the safety instructions that  
generally come with in-flight magazines.

imagine how hard to interpret, understand and follow, a text  
equivalent would be.

we nearly all benefit from the mimed gestures, the illustrations, the  
voice-over, and also most importantly the location and environment.

text is only one of many media, it happens that for some it may be  
more readily achievable on a limited budget.

WCAG2 gives text equivalence undue emphasis.

experiencing tsunami is surely very different to reading 津波


Jonathan Chetwynd
Accessibility Consultant on Learning Disabilities and the Internet

29 Crimsworth Road

020 7978 1764

Received on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 21:49:48 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 15:59:43 UTC