W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > January to March 2007

RE: Report on WCAG2 comments relating to cognitive, learning, and language disabilities

From: Bailey, Bruce <Bruce.Bailey@ed.gov>
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2007 10:56:08 -0400
Message-ID: <CCDBDCBFA650F74AA88830D4BACDBAB5130FA84F@wdcrobe2m02.ed.gov>
To: "David MacDonald" <befree@magma.ca>, "lisa" <lisa@ubaccess.com>, "j.chetwynd" <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>
Cc: "Loretta Guarino Reid" <lorettaguarino@google.com>, "Sofia Celic" <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, "Jan Dekelver" <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, "Chuck Hitchcock" <chitchcock@cast.org>, "Hiroshi Kawamura" <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, "Gez Lemon" <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, "Clayton Lewis" <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, "Gian Sampson-Wild" <gian@tkh.com.au>, "Keith Smith" <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, "Roberto Scano" <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, "Stephen Shore" <Tumbalaika@aol.com>, "Nancy Ward" <nward@thedesk.info>, "Paul Bowman" <pbowman@gmu.edu>, "John Slatin" <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, "Elbert Johns" <ejohns@thearclink.org>, "Gregg Vanderheiden" <gv@trace.wisc.edu>, "Michael Cooper" <cooper@w3.org>, "Judy Brewer" <jbrewer@w3.org>, "WCAG" <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>

For an example of a government site that is oriented towards people with cognitive disabilities:
The Medicaid Reference Desk
http://thedesk.info/

Nancy Ward and Clayton Lewis have been particularly involved with that project.  I did not find concept maps however.

The claim to Triple A status (with a link to CAST no less) is troubling.

P.S.:  Follows is a link to the HTML version of the PDF mentioned in Lisa's post from 2001.
Telecommunications Problems and Design Strategies for People with Cognitive Disabilities
http://www.wid.org/archives/telecom/


> -----Original Message-----
> From: w3c-wai-gl-request@w3.org 
> [mailto:w3c-wai-gl-request@w3.org]On Behalf Of David MacDonald
> Sent: Tuesday, March 13, 2007 10:23 AM
> To: 'lisa'; '"~:'' ????????????"'
> Cc: 'Loretta Guarino Reid'; 'Sofia Celic'; 'Jan Dekelver'; 
> 'Chuck Hitchcock'; 'Hiroshi Kawamura'; 'Gez Lemon'; 'Clayton 
> Lewis'; 'Gian Sampson-Wild'; 'Keith Smith'; 'Roberto Scano'; 
> 'Stephen Shore'; 'Nancy Ward'; 'Paul Bowman'; 'John Slatin'; 
> 'Elbert Johns'; 'Gregg Vanderheiden'; 'Michael Cooper'; 'Judy 
> Brewer'; 'WCAG'
> Subject: RE: Report on WCAG2 comments relating to cognitive, 
> learning, and language disabilities
> 
> Hi Lisa
> 
> Can you provide a link to a successfully implemented concept map on a
> commercial (or private site)? I would like to see one in use. Thanks.
Received on Tuesday, 13 March 2007 14:57:21 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:47:49 GMT