W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > January to March 2007

Re: Cognitive disabilities and WCAG2

From: Jonathan Chetwynd <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>
Date: Mon, 22 Jan 2007 09:49:10 +0000
Message-Id: <41CA46CF-A14D-4A05-A7BE-9658B1FC7567@btinternet.com>
Cc: Gian Sampson-Wild <gian@tkh.com.au>, Loretta Guarino Reid <lorettaguarino@google.com>, Sofia Celic <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, Jan Dekelver <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, Chuck Hitchcock <chitchcock@cast.org>, Hiroshi Kawamura <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Clayton Lewis <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, Roberto Scano <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, Lisa Seeman <lisa@ubaccess.com>, Stephen Shore <info@autismasperger.net>, John Slatin <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, Keith Smith <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, Nancy Ward <nward@thedesk.info>, Paul Bowman <pbowman@gmu.edu>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, timbl@w3.org
To: Gregg Vanderheiden <gv@trace.wisc.edu>, w3c-wai-gl@w3.org

Judy & Gregg,

Judy limited the recent call to discussing a disclaimer to be  
inserted at the beginning of the WCAG2 draft. If members of the  
WCAGWG intends to encourage wider participation and consensus, they  
will need to ensure this work is continued throughout the current  
draft .

For example:
When making assertions it is helpful if the axioms relied on are self- 
evident.
Where this is not the case, evidence  and references should be provided:

On what basis is "Guideline 3.1 Make text content readable and  
understandable." defined by "lower secondary education level"?
What fraction of the web population are included in this definition?
What fraction of the general population is excluded?
Where is the statement explaining why this group is excluded?
Where is the link to a statement describing how to include them?

The whole WCAG2 draft needs a thorough revision.
This is a significant and challenging task.

regards

Jonathan Chetwynd
"On behalf of more than forty signatories to the formal objection."
Received on Monday, 22 January 2007 09:49:39 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:47:49 GMT