W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > April to June 2007

Re: Agenda for 10 April 2007 teleconference on cognitive, language, and learning issues in WCAG 2.0

From: ~:'' ありがとうございました。 <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>
Date: Tue, 10 Apr 2007 17:45:49 +0100
Message-Id: <22405F1A-735F-4E92-BD5F-65449717EBFF@btinternet.com>
Cc: Gregg Vanderheiden <gv@trace.wisc.edu>, Loretta Guarino Reid <lorettaguarino@google.com>, Paul Bowman <pbowman@gmu.edu>, Sofia Celic <Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org>, Jan Dekelver <jan.dekelver@khk.be>, Chuck Hitchcock <chitchcock@cast.org>, "Elbert Johns <ejohns@thearclink.org>, Hiroshi Kawamura" <hkawa@rehab.go.jp>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Clayton Lewis <clayton.lewis@colorado.edu>, Gian Sampson-Wild <gian@tkh.com.au>, Roberto Scano <rscano@iwa-italy.org>, Stephen Shore <Tumbalaika@aol.com>, John Slatin <jslatin@mail.utexas.edu>, Keith Smith <k.smith@bild.org.uk>, Nancy Ward <nward@thedesk.info>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, David MacDonald <befree@magma.ca>, Sean Hayes <Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com>, Alex Li <alex.li@sap.com>, WCAG <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>, Bailey Bruce <Bailey@access-board.gov>
To: lisa <lisa@ubaccess.com>

apologies, last minute family commitments prevented my attendance

cheers

Jonathan Chetwynd



On 10 Apr 2007, at 14:49, lisa wrote:


proposed wording change

from:
Although some of the accessibility issues of people with cognitive,
language, and learning disabilities are addressed by WCAG 2.0, either
directly or through assistive technologies, the WCAG 2.0 guidelines  
do not
address many areas of need for people with these disabilities. There  
is a
need for more research and development in this important area.

to:

Although some of the accessibility issues of people with cognitive,
language, and learning disabilities are addressed by WCAG 2.0, either
directly or through assistive technologies, the WCAG 2.0 guidelines  
do not
address many areas of need for people with these disabilities. There  
is a
need for more research and development in this important area by the  
working
group and additional success criteria and techniques may be added to  
future
versions of this document.


All the best

Lisa
-----Original Message-----
From: Gregg Vanderheiden [mailto:gv@trace.wisc.edu]
Sent: Saturday, April 07, 2007 2:58 AM
To: Loretta Guarino Reid; Paul Bowman; Sofia Celic; Jonathan  
Chetwynd; Jan
Dekelver; Chuck Hitchcock; Elbert Johns <ejohns@thearclink.org>, Hiroshi
Kawamura; Gez Lemon; Clayton Lewis; Gian Sampson-Wild; Roberto Scano;  
Lisa
Seeman; Stephen Shore; John Slatin; Keith Smith; Nancy Ward
Cc: Judy Brewer; Michael Cooper; David MacDonald; Sean Hayes; Li, Alex;
Bailey Bruce
Subject: Agenda for 10 April 2007 teleconference on cognitive,  
language, and
learning issues in WCAG 2.0

Greetings,

Here is an agenda for our teleconference addressing comments on  
cognitive,
language and learning issues in WCAG 2.0, to be held on 10 April  
2007, at
12:00 UTC, which is:
     10pm Eastern Australia
     9pm Tokyo
     1pm London
     2pm Brussels
     3pm Jerusalem
     8am Eastern US
     7am Central US
     5am Pacific US

Background reading:

- The attached document provides a summary of comments received on
cognitive, language and learning issues during WCAG 2.0 Last Call  
Working
Draft. This summary has been updated with feedback from our previous
discussion on 13 March, and with possible resolutions for the remaining
issues. At our 10 April meeting, we would like to focus on the last six
comments in this document, which are:

      * LC-608: Cognitive exception for captions
      * LC-640: Criticism of Principle 3
      * LC-865: Alternate success criteria for people with learning

                disabilities
      * LC-877: WCAG processes aren't accessible
      * LC-1053: SC 2.4.6 should be level 1

- We can also discuss other comments and resolutions in this summary, to
    the extent time allows.

- Please note that we will send calling instructions separately.

Regards,

- Loretta, Gregg, and Judy



AGENDA:

1. Introduction
      (around 10 minutes)
      - re-introduce meeting participants
      - review agenda and meeting goals
   Meeting goals:
      - complete getting feedback on comments relating to cognitive,
        language and learning issues received on the WCAG 2.0 Last Call
        Working Draft, with a particular focus on the remaining open  
issues
      - find out who is interested in follow-up meetings to discuss how
        cognitive, language and learning issues are addressed throughout
        different parts of WAI's work

2. Walk-through of comments
      (up to 90 minutes, if needed)
      - feedback on possible resolutions of comments received on WCAG  
2.0
         Last Call Working Draft
      - feedback or questions on other resolutions to comments  
included in
         the Summary

3. Interest in follow-up meetings to discuss how cognitive, language and
    learning issues are addressed throughout different parts of WAI's  
work
      (around 10 minutes)
      - description of purpose of those meetings
      - who is interested?

Regards,

- Judy
Received on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 16:45:56 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:47:50 GMT