W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > October to December 2002

RE: Request for Review: WCAG 2.0 Working Draft

From: Colette Nicolle <c.a.nicolle@lboro.ac.uk>
Date: Tue, 15 Oct 2002 16:24:17 +0100
Message-ID: <C163AF115A71D511B3ED00508BE94A214C1BB8@maverick.lut.ac.uk>
To: "'w3c-wai-gl@w3.org'" <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>
Cc: Tuomo Riihimaki <tuomo.riihimaki@modemo.fi>, Aleid Hekstra <edpc@handicom.nl>, Andrew Lysley <lysley@ace-centre.org.uk>, Bengt Farre <Bengt.Farre@androtech.se>, Doeko Hekstra <doeko@handicom.nl>, Eva Holmqvist <eva.holmqvist@vgregion.se>, Henk Klunder <henk@handicom.nl>, Lars Nordberg <larsnordberg@dof.se>, Mats Lundalv <mats.lundalv@vgregion.se>, Michele <michelle@modemo.fi>, Mieke <mieke@handicom.nl>, Mike Clarke <mclarke@sergentclarke.freeserve.co.uk>, Mike Clarke <clarke@ace-centre.org.uk>, Palle Madsen <palle.madsen@it.dk>, Sheri Hunnicutt <sheri@speech.kth.se>, Tina Magnuson <tina@speech.kth.se>, David Poulson <d.f.poulson@lboro.ac.uk>, Colette Nicolle <c.a.nicolle@lboro.ac.uk>
Dear Wendy,

I am attaching some comments on WCAG 2.0 (put together by my colleague David
Poulson with also some input from myself) which I hope the working group
will be useful.  The WWAAC project is working on specific success criteria
and advisory recommendations for making the content understandable for
people with communication or cognitive impairments, and I hope we can give
you more input at a later date.

Best wishes from a very wet and windy Loughborough,
Colette





Colette Nicolle
Research Fellow
Ergonomics and Safety Research Institute (ESRI)
Loughborough University
Holywell Building
Holywell Way
Loughborough, Leicestershire
LE11 3UZ

Direct Dial: +44 (0)1509 283369
Email: c.a.nicolle@lboro.ac.uk
http://www.lboro.ac.uk/esri/


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Wendy A Chisholm [mailto:wendy@w3.org] 
> Sent: 21 September 2002 02:27
> To: Colette Nicolle; Doeko Hekstra; Bengt Farre
> Subject: Request for Review: WCAG 2.0 Working Draft
> 
> 
> Dear Colette, Doeko, and Bengt,
> 
> I'm sure Bengt has informed you of the latest working draft, 
> but I wanted 
> to pass along a form letter to encourage review and response by the 
> WWAAC.  I enjoyed our meeting this summer and look forward to future 
> discussions.
> 
> The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Working Group (WCAG 
> WG) at W3C has 
> recently published an updated Working Draft of "Web Content 
> Accessibility 
> Guidelines 2.0" (WCAG 2.0). It is available at:
>          http://www.w3.org/TR/2002/WD-WCAG20-20020822/
> 
> We'd be very interested to know your thoughts on this draft. 
> Some of the 
> questions you might want to comment on include:
> 
>          1.  In general, is this WCAG 2.0 Working Draft easy to 
> understand?  Please identify sections or phrases that are 
> difficult to 
> understand.  Please suggest alternative wording for us to consider.
> 
>          2.  The priority structure of this WCAG 2.0 Working 
> Draft differs 
> from WCAG 1.0.   Is this structure easy to understand?  Would 
> it be effective?"
> 
>          3.  If your site already uses WCAG 1.0, do you think 
> it would be 
> difficult to migrate from WCAG 1.0 to WCAG 2.0? What would make it 
> easier?  Please note that supporting documents, such as 
> technology-specific 
> techniques documents, are not yet available.
> 
> Please send your comments by October 18, 2002, to:
>          w3c-wai-gl@w3.org
> The archive for that mailing list is available at:
>          http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/w3c-wai-gl/
> 
> There is also a "Requirements for WCAG 2.0" document on which you are 
> invited to comment. The Requirements document explains the 
> changes that the 
> Working Group is trying to make in WCAG 2.0 based on feedback 
> from WCAG 
> 1.0, including improving the usability, understandability, and 
> applicability of the guidelines. It is available at:
>        http://www.w3.org/TR/wcag2-req/
> 
> While we expect WCAG 2.0 to go through several additional 
> drafts, comments 
> at this stage of development of the document are likely to 
> have more impact 
> on the document. Additional information on the Working Group 
> is available at:
>          http://www.w3.org/WAI/GL/
> 
> When sending comments, please:
>          - State the issue as clearly and simply as possible.
>          - Provide links to specific examples or references.
>          - Suggest solutions if possible.
>          - Remember that we welcome volunteers to help with the work.
> 
> When waiting for responses to comments:
>         - Track your issue in the open issues list
>         - Follow up on the mailing list if you don't find 
> your issue in the 
> open issues list.
>          http://www.w3.org/WAI/GL/wcag20-issues.html
> 
> Please let me know if you have any questions. Many thanks in 
> advance for 
> your comments,
> 
>   - Wendy Chisholm, W3C
>     Team Contact for the WCAG WG
> 
> -- 
> wendy a chisholm
> world wide web consortium
> web accessibility initiative
> seattle, wa usa
> /--
> -- 
> wendy a chisholm
> world wide web consortium
> web accessibility initiative
> seattle, wa usa
> /--
> 



Received on Tuesday, 15 October 2002 11:24:29 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:47:20 GMT