W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-eo@w3.org > April to June 2001

EOWG in Europe offers an important opportunity to discuss what might be the 'European Way'.

From: Jonathan Chetwynd <j.chetwynd@btinternet.com>
Date: Tue, 14 Aug 2001 11:10:02 +0100
Message-ID: <000401c124b9$803b3c80$9c8e7bd5@btopenworld.com>
To: "EOWG" <w3c-wai-eo@w3.org>, "Neil Morris" <neil@pop3.poptel.org.uk>, <mburks952@worldnet.att.net>, "Dave Barlow" <dave@barlowandco.co.uk>, "Symbol Forum" <symbol.forum@listbot.com>, "Paul Bohman" <paulb@cpd2.usu.edu>, "len forbes" <lenforbes_58@yahoo.co.uk>, "Deborah Moppett" <Deborah@moppetts.org.uk>, "Stephen Smith" <stephensmith@walnuts.milton-keynes.sch.uk>, "Terry Waller" <Terry_waller@becta.org.uk>, <stcaval@rmplc.co.uk>
Web accessibility is an important goal and the proposed forthcoming meeting
of the Education and Outreach working group in Amsterdam offers an important
opportunity to discuss what might be the 'European Way'.
Why is it that independent European initiatives to promote accessibility not
developing?.

Business is important, but so are people.
Perhaps within Europe business does not have the central role that America
chooses to give it?
In any case those with the least literacy are most disadvantaged and have
the least economic impact.
They are likely to benefit from educational activities, and less likely to
benefit from appeals to business models.

The approach which I have tried to advocate includes:
Develop initiatives from the ground up.
Produce resources that non-specialists can use.
Teach by demonstrating.

Sorry if this seems a little off topic.


jonathan chetwynd
IT teacher (LDD)
j.chetwynd@btinternet.com
http://www.peepo.com         "The first and still the best picture
directory"
Received on Friday, 1 June 2001 08:20:13 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:55:48 UTC