W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-sgml-wg@w3.org > November 1996

Thanks to XML contributors

From: Harvey Bingham <hbingham@ACM.org>
Date: Sat, 02 Nov 1996 00:28:00 -0500
Message-Id: <2.2.32.19961102052800.0075b6ac@tiac.net>
To: w3c-sgml-wg@w3.org
Our XML experience has been great. I've enjoyed the prompt and
detailed discussions that provided guidance for the Editorial
Review Board decisions. I've noted significant disagreements
argued without flames. This process is so refreshingly paced that
issues raised become issues resolved while still fresh in mind.
Much better than the months and years spent evolving some other
standards and SGML applications without email. I believe you
may be interested in this summary of who have been the players.


Contributors to www-sgml-wg@w3.org through 1 Nov 1996

Identifications come primarily from the Working Group and
Editorial Review Board lists appended to the
Extensible Markup Language (XML) W3C Working Draft 1-Nov-96
http:.//www.w3.org/pub/WWW/TR/WD-xml-9061101.html

LEGEND

Msgs   messages from that email address, "." is none
Echos  lines from prior messages giving context for response
Lines  non-header lines that aren't echos

Code
   e editorial review board
   w working group
   - other contributor not listed in appendix
Name   from the lists, or extracted from actual submission
Org    organization, some guessed. 
Role   erb role if any
Email  distinct email addresses, some names have several

Basis for count is my unofficial record of received messages
I may have discarded a few that were non-technical

Msgs Echos Lines Code Name, Org, Role <Email>

   .     .     . w Sharon Adler, EBT <sca@ebt.com>
   1     1    44 - Terry Allen, O'Reilly <terry@ora.com>
   1     8    31 w Paula Angerstein, Texcel <paula@texcel.no>
   6    85   153 w Todd Bauman, U. of Maryland <bbauma1@cs.umbc.edu>
   2    31    51 w Anders Berglund, EBT <alb@ebt.com>
   .     .     . w Karl Best, Novell <kbest@novell.com>
   .     .     . w Michel Biezunski, High Text <michel@hightext.com>
   7   192   109 w Harvey Bingham, SGML consultant <hbingham@acm.org>
  82   416  1609 e Tim Bray, Textuality, editor <tbray@textuality.com>
   .     .     . w Steve Brown, InfoObjects <sbrown@cortland.com>
  75     1  1606 e Jon Bosak, Sun, chair <bosak@atlantic-83.eng.sun.com>
  56   529   967 w Martin Bryan, SGML Centre <mtbryan@sgml.u-net.com>
   .     .     . w Mark Buckley, Microsoft <mbuckley@microsoft.com>
  64   932  1236 w Len Bullard, Lockheed-Martin <cbullard@hiwaay.net>
   4     6    50 w Lou Burnard, Oxford University <lou@vax.ox.ac.uk>
   .     .     . w Steve Byrne, JavaSoft <steve.byrne@sun.com>
  48   540   666 e James Clark, SGML Consultant, technical lead <jjc@jclark.com>
   .     .     . e Dan Connolly, W3C, W3C contact <connolly@w3.org>
   .     .     . w Kurt Conrad, Sagebrush Group <conrad@cbvcp.com>
   .     .     . w Paul Cope, auto-graphics <prc@auto-graphics.com>
   .     .     . w Keith Corbett, Harlequin <kmc@harlequin.com>
   2     0   127 w Robin Cover, Academic <robin@acadcomp.sil.org>
   4    35   120 w Derek Denny-Brown, TechnoTeacher <derdb@techno.com>
  24   224   560 e Steve DeRose, EBT <sjd@ebt.com>
   1     0    16 - Bob Du Charme, Research Inst of America
<bducharme@riasmtp.riatax.com>
  95  1424  2604 w Dave Durand, Boston University <dgd@cs.bu.edu>
   .     .     . w Carol Ellerbeck, INSO <carol_ellerbeck@inso.com>
  24   267   573 w Joe English, CR Laboratories <jenglish@crl.com>
   1     3    17 w Ralph Ferris, Fujitsu <ralph@fsc.fujitsu.com>
   .     .     . w Lee Fogal, Digital Equipment <fogal@zk3.dec.com>
   .     .     . w Todd Freter, Novell <tfreter@novell.com>
   2    46    57 w Matthew Fuchs, Disney Imagineering <matt@wdi.disney.com>
 141  1758  2606 w Charles Goldfarb, Editor ISO 8879 <charles@sgmlsource.com>
  28   506   608 w Paul Grosso, ArborText <paul@arbortext.com>
   2    24    66 w Eduardo Gutentag, SunSoft <eduardo.gutentag@eng.sun.com>
   2    22    30 w Hasse Haitto, Synex <haitto@synex.se>
   .     .     . w Catherine Hamon, Hightext <hamon@hightext.com>
   1    13    14 e Dave Hollander, HP <dmh@hpsgml.fc.hp.com>
   2    43    70 w Ken Holman, Microstar <gkholman@microstar.com>
  18    76   423 w Rick Jelliffe, Allette Systems <ricko@allette.com.au>
   .     .     . w Alan Karben, Wall Street Journal <karben@interactive.wsj.com>
   .     .     . w P&auml;r Karlsson, Ericsson <etxpkar@stdoca.ericsson.se>
  27   355   911 e Eliot Kimber, Passage Systems <kimber@passage.com>
  11    18   428 w Bill Lindsey, BDM <blindsey@bdmtech.com>
   .     .     . w Per &Aring;ke Ling, Ericsson <etxperl@stdoca.ericsson.se>
   7    22    57 w Debbie Lapeyre, Mulberry Technologies
<dlapeyre@mulberrytech.com>
   5     0   183 - John Lavagnino, Brown University <john_lavagnino@brown.edu>
   1     7    39 - Richard Light, Light <richard@light.demon.co.uk>
   .     .     . w Megan MacMillan, BDM Technologies <megan@bdmtech.com>
  10    79   300 w Christopher Maden, EBT <crm@ebt.com>
   1    13    24 e Tom Magliery, NCSA <mag@ncsa.uiuc.edu>
  18   530   293 e Eve Maler, ArborText <elm@arbortext.com>
   3   154   146 - Murray Maloney, SoftQuad <murray@sq.com>
   5    40   111 w James Mason, ORNL <masonjd@ornl.gov>
   1    19    15 w John McFaddan, Omnimark <jrm@omnimark.com>
   .     .     . w Alex Milowski, Copernican Solutions <alex@copsol.com>
   8   225   260 w Alex Milowski, Copernican Solutions
<milor001@gold.tc.umn.edu>
   5    43   187 w Steve Newcomb, TechnoTeacher <srn@techno.com>
 129  1175  1353 w Gavin Nicol, EBT <gtn@ebt.com>
   .     .     . w Nancy Paisner, Open Environment Corp <npaisner@oec.com>
   .     .     . w Gary Palmer, ActiveSystems <gpalmer@sonetis.com>
   .     .     . e Jean Paoli, Microsoft <jeanpa@microsoft.com>
   2    27    30 w Dave Peterson, SGML Works <davep@acm.org>
  76   767  1526 w Paul Prescod, U. of Waterloo
<papresco@calum.csclub.uwaterloo.ca>
   .     .     . w Lynne Price, SGML consultant <lprice@ix.netcom.com>
  90   626  3140 - Liam Quin, SoftQuad <lee@sq.com>
  14   137   348 w Arjun Ray, Q2-II <aray@nmds.com>
   2    16    67 e Peter Sharpe, SoftQuad <peter@sqwest.bc.ca>
  32   247   528 w Bill Smith, SunSoft <bill.smith@eng.sun.com>
   2    29    36 w Bill Smith, SunSoft <bsmith@atlantic-82.eng.sun.com>
 110   358  3130 e C. M. Sperberg-McQueen, U IL Chicago, editor
<u35395@uicvm.cc.uic.edu>
  24   139  1028 e C. M. Sperberg-McQueen, U IL Chicago, editor
<u35395@uicvm.uic.edu>
   .     .     . w Bob Stayton, SCO <bobs@sco.com>
   9   109   118 w Robert Streich, Schlumberger <streich@austin.sar.slb.com>
  45   394   772 w Robert Streich, Schlumberger <streich@slb.com>
   .     .     . w Jeff Suttor, SunSoft <jeff.suttor@sun.com>
   .     .     . w James Tauber, U. of Western Australia
<jtauber@library.uwa.edu.au>
   .     .     . w Wayne Taylor, Novell <wtaylor@novell.com>
  14    84   177 w Henry Thompson, University of Edinburgh <ht@cogsci.ed.ac.uk>
   .     .     . w Sam Wilmott, OmniMark <s.wilmott@omnimark.com>
   .     .     . w Chris Wilson, Microsoft <cwilso@microsoft.com>
   .     .     . w Wayne Wohler, IBM <wohler@vnet.ibm.com>
   3     9    85 w Lauren Wood, SoftQuad <lauren@sqwest.bc.ca>

TOTALS
Msgs Echos Lines Heads Emails

1347 12804 29705 31625     53

Heads are message header lines
Emails are distinct sending email addresses

Regards/Harvey
Received on Saturday, 2 November 1996 00:28:04 EST

This archive was generated by hypermail pre-2.1.9 : Wednesday, 24 September 2003 10:03:41 EDT