W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > uri@w3.org > October 2007

Re: URI Templates - optional variables?

From: James M Snell <jasnell@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 15 Oct 2007 21:18:12 -0700
Message-ID: <47143B84.1070609@gmail.com>
To: John Cowan <cowan@ccil.org>
CC: Marc Hadley <Marc.Hadley@Sun.COM>, "Roy T. Fielding" <fielding@gbiv.com>, URI <uri@w3.org>, Joe Gregorio <joe@bitworking.org>, Stefan Eissing <stefan.eissing@greenbytes.de>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>

I've been working on that, and it's difficult to say the least.  The
main challenge is not the template var's themselves, but in knowing
exactly how to break things up so the right values get pick out of the
right places.  I'm hoping to have something working by the end of the week.

- James

John Cowan wrote:
> Marc Hadley scripsit:
> 
>> I realize most folks are focussed on the template->URI conversion  
>> process but I'm currently most interested in matching URIs to  
>> templates and if we introduce the need to refer to external  
>> processing extensions I don't see how such matching can be  
>> implemented in the general case. 
> 
> That's very interesting.  Someone should see whether Joe's proposal
> is invertible: go from a URI and a template to a bunch of variables.
> 
Received on Tuesday, 16 October 2007 04:18:36 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 13 January 2011 12:15:37 GMT