W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > uri@w3.org > May 2003

Re: Syntax Issues/Experience with RFC2396bis and abnf2re

From: Rob Cameron <cameron@cs.sfu.ca>
Date: Wed, 7 May 2003 16:10:51 -0700
To: Chris Newman <Chris.Newman@Sun.COM>, Martin Duerst <duerst@w3.org>, Graham Klyne <GK@ninebynine.org>, uri@w3.org, Harald.Alvestrand@maxware.no, Dave Crocker <dhc2@dcrocker.net>, paulo@turnpike.com, "Roy T. Fielding" <fielding@apache.org>
Message-Id: <200305071610.51273.cameron@cs.sfu.ca>

I stand corrected on HEXDIG case-sensitivity.  Thanks everyone.  
Sorry to take up bandwidth on it.

One other issue that I ran across in URI processing is that the 
grammar allows an absolute-URI to have an empty path 
(empty hier-part), meaning that http: and http:?x are 
acceptable absolute-URIs.   
absolute-URI  = scheme ":" ( hier-part / opaque-part )
hier-part     = [ net-path / abs-path ] [ "?" query ]

Possibly these forms could be useful as some form of
relative URI, but I don't see them as absolute URIs.   Even as
relative URIs, they seem dubious.

On Wednesday 07 May 2003 9:51 am, Chris Newman wrote:
> I concur with Paul's interpretation.  The intent of the ABNF spec is that
> anything enclosed in double-quotes is case-insensitive.
>
> Note that there is no such thing as a reference implementation of ABNF,
> only the ABNF specification is normative.
>
> The ABNF validator referenced by <http://www.ietf.org/ID-nits.html> is
> available at http://www.apps.ietf.org/abnf.html and it does permit
> lower-case hex.
>
>                 - Chris
Received on Wednesday, 7 May 2003 19:11:06 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 13 January 2011 12:15:31 GMT