W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > site-comments@w3.org > January 2005

Re: W3C Sending out Viruses?

From: olivier Thereaux <ot@w3.org>
Date: Fri, 28 Jan 2005 13:21:31 +0900
Message-Id: <1c9f208e6d565bcf8a0f476f536a2156@w3.org>
Cc: <site-comments@w3.org>
To: <pr@reclipse.net>

On Jan 28, 2005, at 13:00, <pr@reclipse.net> wrote:
>  I just got an email from www-validator@w3.org with a .zip 
> attachment named Music_MP3.zip. I scanned it and found that it had a 
> W32/Bagle@MM!pwdzip type virus in it. I assume that this was not an 
> email you wanted to be sent, and I am just emailing you to alert you 
> of something that could be a problem.

www-validator@w3.org is not a real mail account but a mailing-list, and 
no mail is ever supposed to come from it. My guess is that some viruses 
forge From: addresses when sending the viruses, taking the user's 
address book as a basis. So someone indeed sent you a virus, but it was 
not the W3C mail system, but most likely someone who had you (and 
www-validator) in their address book is infected.

Thank you,
olivier Thereaux - www-validator list maintainer
Received on Friday, 28 January 2005 04:21:44 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:15:35 UTC