W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > site-comments@w3.org > May 2004

Re: Your site is mentioned in the html code of a spammer

From: Ian B. Jacobs <ij@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 25 May 2004 08:46:37 -0400
To: jonprof@wowway.com
Cc: "site-comments@w3.org" <site-comments@w3.org>
Message-Id: <1085489196.1292.13.camel@seabright>

You are correct; this has nothing to do with us beyond
the fact that they are using HTML.

Please see this FAQ for more information:

 _ Ian

On Mon, 2004-05-24 at 22:08, jonprof@wowway.com wrote:
> While in the middle of compiling an e-mail message, a screen opened and an ad 
> for a mortgage company appeared.  A few minutes later, the same thing 
> happened again.  When I went to the site indicated by this obnoxious spammer 
> and checked the "View Source" option to try to find someone I could complain 
> to, there was this reference in the opening line:
> "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"
> The company is called Preferred Mortgage and its practices are obnoxiously 
> intrusive.  I trust you have nothing to do with them.
> Jon Lewis
> --
> WOW! Homepage (http://www.wowway.com)
Ian Jacobs (ij@w3.org)   http://www.w3.org/People/Jacobs
Tel:                     +1 718 260-9447

Received on Tuesday, 25 May 2004 08:48:47 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:15:34 UTC