W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > June 2010

RE: What is it that's wrong with rdf:List

From: Michael Schneider <schneid@fzi.de>
Date: Sat, 19 Jun 2010 00:03:55 +0200
Message-ID: <0EF30CAA69519C4CB91D01481AEA06A001E9A5AE@judith.fzi.de>
To: "Pat Hayes" <phayes@ihmc.us>
Cc: "Paul Gearon" <gearon@ieee.org>, "Semantic Web" <semantic-web@w3.org>, "Norman Gray" <norman@astro.gla.ac.uk>, "Sandro Hawke" <sandro@w3.org>
Pat Hayes wrote:

It might be simpler to just let OWL have rdf:List and modify RDF
>by using a new vocabulary for general use.

Please don't forget that some final (or almost final) standards already make
use of RDF lists as semantic entities. I know at least of SKOS ("Concept
Collections"; see Chap. 9 of [1]) and RIF (Sec. 3.2.1.2 of [2]). And if it
is true that the SPARQL 1.1 folks also start thinking about supporting
general usage of RDF lists...

>Pat

Cheers,
Michael

[1] <http://www.w3.org/TR/skos-reference>
[2] <http://www.w3.org/TR/rif-rdf-owl/>

--
Dipl.-Inform. Michael Schneider
Research Scientist, Information Process Engineering (IPE)
Tel  : +49-721-9654-726
Fax  : +49-721-9654-727
Email: michael.schneider@fzi.de
WWW  : http://www.fzi.de/michael.schneider
=======================================================================
FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 10-14, D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49-721-9654-0, Fax: +49-721-9654-959
Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts, Az 14-0563.1, RP Karlsruhe
Vorstand: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Dillmann, Dipl. Wi.-Ing. Michael Flor,
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolffried Stucky, Prof. Dr. Rudi Studer
Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums: Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus
=======================================================================
Received on Friday, 18 June 2010 22:04:30 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 21:45:36 GMT