W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > July 2010

Re: Show me the money - (was Subjects as Literals)

From: Toby Inkster <tai@g5n.co.uk>
Date: Fri, 2 Jul 2010 00:25:13 +0100
To: Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>
Cc: nathan@webr3.org, Jeremy Carroll <jeremy@topquadrant.com>, Yves Raimond <yves.raimond@gmail.com>, Pat Hayes <phayes@ihmc.us>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>, Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Linked Data community <public-lod@w3.org>, Semantic Web <semantic-web@w3.org>, Michael Hausenblas <michael.hausenblas@deri.org>, Story Henry <henry.story@bblfish.net>, Ivan Mikhailov <imikhailov@openlinksw.com>
Message-ID: <20100702002513.4da4e42a@miranda.g5n.co.uk>
On Thu, 01 Jul 2010 13:05:54 -0400
Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com> wrote:

> W3C only officially acknowledges RDF/XML as Markup Language for RDF
> Data Model.

I hear this time and time again, but it is not true anymore.

XHTML+RDFa 1.0 became a W3C Recommendation in October 2008. It has the
same publication status as RDF/XML.

(And as it happens, XHTML+RDFa 1.0 is capable of representing a larger
subset of the RDF data model than RDF/XML is, as it uses CURIEs rather
than QNames. CURIEs are capable of expressing predicate URIs such as
<http://example.com/1> which cannot be expressed as QNames.)

-- 
Toby A Inkster
<mailto:mail@tobyinkster.co.uk>
<http://tobyinkster.co.uk>
Received on Thursday, 1 July 2010 23:26:31 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 1 March 2016 07:42:20 UTC