W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > February 2010

Re: Call for papers: EISWT-10, Orlando, USA, July 2010

From: John Edward <jeedward@yahoo.com>
Date: Sat, 27 Feb 2010 06:54:02 -0800 (PST)
Message-ID: <856366.52785.qm@web45907.mail.sp1.yahoo.com>
To: semantic-web@w3.org

Dr. Zoran
Majkic is not a fulltime Professor of ETF, Applied Mathematics Department,
University of Belgrade, Serbia because he is not working there fulltime but he
has an honorary affiliation and permission to make publication with this
affiliation and he is using that. He also worked there for few years as an
Assistant Professor in the past. You may kindly contact that University in case
you have further questions.
Majkic was affiliated with Computer Science Department, University of Maryland,
college park, USA as a Senior Researcher in the past. You may contact
University of Maryland to verify his past affiliation. We overlooked to change
that affiliation on our website and we changed it recently when someone pointed
that mistake. 
is evident that some people/groups are trying HARD to defame and create
problems to http://www.PromoteResearch.org   (such people may even try to fake water
for oil). We have experiences from such people/groups since 2006.  Kindly see the message that we posted at http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/semantic-web/2010Feb/0225.html about threatening we received in 2006 itself.
Based on our experiences, from now onwards, if any one has any questions about http://www.PromoteResearch.org , and
if that person’s REAL intention is to get information from us (rather than
trying to defame us on the forums, etc.), we ask such person to contact us DIRECLY
at contact[at]promoteresearch.org rather than posting to forums or mailing
lists. Sorry, we may not answer those queries posted on
forums or mailing lists, it is beyond our responsibility and limits.  *******

----- Original Message ----
From: Pablo Mendes <pablomendes@gmail.com>
To: semantic-web@w3.org
Sent: Fri, February 26, 2010 10:54:12 AM
Subject: Re: Call for papers: EISWT-10, Orlando, USA, July 2010

On this subject, a thread from another list may be of interest:

A quote from the thread:
"The mentioned Zoran Majkic, in the organizing committee of BCBGC-10,
.... is now, according to the same web site,
no longer affiliated to that organisation. That affiliation is also
denied by the University of Maryland. He is actually, according to the
BCBGC-10 web site, affiliated to ETF, Applied Mathematics Department,
University of Belgrade, Serbia, since a couple of hours ago."

Best regards,

On Thu, Feb 25, 2010 at 10:23 AM, Rich Kulawiec <rsk@gsp.org> wrote:
> Please note that this "conference" is a fraud.  It's one of a number
> of related "conferences" being heavily promoted by spam on mailing lists
> and on Usenet newsgroups.
> For some background, please see:
>        http://copy-shake-paste.blogspot.com/2008/12/fake-conferences.html
> I recommend blacklisting the putative sender:
>        jeedward@yahoo.com
> as well as these other addresses which are being used to run the same scam:
>        amgsolo@yahoo.com
>        devipsr@gmail.com
>        imecs_2008@iaeng.org
>        imecs_2009@iaeng.org
>        natty2006@gmail.com
>        wce_2009@iaeng.org
>        wcecs_2009@iaeng.org
>        jmheralds@gmail.com
> I'm sure there are others.  I'm working with other anti-spam experts
> to compile a list of both sender addresses and domains involved.
> ---Rsk

Received on Saturday, 27 February 2010 14:54:37 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 1 March 2016 07:42:17 UTC