W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > July 2009

Re: e-triples

From: Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>
Date: Fri, 24 Jul 2009 15:46:48 +0100
Message-ID: <4A69C958.8090001@openlinksw.com>
To: Melvin Carvalho <melvincarvalho@gmail.com>
CC: Danny Ayers <danny.ayers@gmail.com>, Semantic Web <semantic-web@w3.org>, Ian Davis <Ian.Davis@talis.com>, Leigh Dodds <leigh.dodds@talis.com>, Mary Ayers <mary.ayers@onetel.net>
Melvin Carvalho wrote:
> On Sat, Jul 18, 2009 at 12:00 PM, Kingsley Idehen<kidehen@openlinksw.com> wrote:
>   
>> Danny Ayers wrote:
>>     
>>> So Kingsley, you know this stuff. OpenLink provides good products. Oh yes.
>>>
>>> This is so in your scope, dude...ready?
>>>
>>> plug&play out of the box e-commerce solution.
>>>
>>> Personally I'd grumble a bit with Martin's modelling, but it is
>>> usable. The Good Relations vocab is good enough.
>>>
>>> Front end a la Amazon, back end triples. Linked triples.
>>>
>>> Make it so - I reckon it could be a huge earner.
>>>
>>> Cheers,
>>> Danny.
>>>
>>>
>>>       
>> Danny,
>>
>> Wow, you got a bug in our offices?
>>
>> Linked Open eCommerce (LOC) is coming, not just for OpenLink but for
>> everyone.
>>
>> Of course it's GoodRelations based, of course its going to make
>> sophisticated use of the Linked Data Web, and most importantly, it is going
>> to be darn simple and obvious for end users and developers alike.
>>
>> Clearly Martin, Aldo, and I haven't put out enough clues :-)  The motto is
>> simply this: describe what you "want" clearly and/or describe what you
>> "offer" clearly, then simply leave the Web to do the REST (i.e., SDQ -
>> Serendipitous Discovery of Relevant Things).
>>     
>
> Let's say I have a list of offers semantically marked up using
> GoodRelations.  I like what I see.
>
> Now I want to buy an item.
>
> How do I get from LOD to LOC?
>   
Apologies for my late response, I've only just seen this post.

Answer: you can make a Linked Data mesh from LOD by combining static and 
dynamically generated Linked Data. Remember those Proxy URIs that our 
Sponger produces for 30+ Web accessible resource types? Also note, we've 
been looking up and meshing (sort of constrained Forward Chaining) for 
quite some time now etc..  We make the linked meshes that provide 
bridges between What You Want and Who Offers it .

Its all about structured data, and the basics of data access: views, 
lookups, and joins, but at Web Scale.

This is one of many commercial value propositions that is 100% Linked 
Data meme driven.

Beyond this point, you'll need to communicate with me in private if you 
need more details :-)


Kingsley
>   
>> It's coming!
>>
>> --
>>
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Kingsley Idehen       Weblog: http://www.openlinksw.com/blog/~kidehen
>> President & CEO OpenLink Software     Web: http://www.openlinksw.com
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>     


-- 


Regards,

Kingsley Idehen	      Weblog: http://www.openlinksw.com/blog/~kidehen
President & CEO 
OpenLink Software     Web: http://www.openlinksw.com
Received on Friday, 24 July 2009 14:47:27 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 1 March 2016 07:42:13 UTC