W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > July 2009

Re: .htaccess a major bottleneck to Semantic Web adoption / Was: Re: RDFa vs RDF/XML and content negotiation

From: Olivier Rossel <olivier.rossel@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 8 Jul 2009 23:08:20 +0200
Message-ID: <516816970907081408m5365c8f9yd91646a4e269ebdc@mail.gmail.com>
To: David Booth <david@dbooth.org>
Cc: Pierre-Antoine Champin <swlists-040405@champin.net>, Pat Hayes <phayes@ihmc.us>, Hugh Glaser <hg@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, Danny Ayers <danny.ayers@gmail.com>, "public-lod@w3.org" <public-lod@w3.org>, "semantic-web@w3c.org" <semantic-web@w3c.org>, Richard Cyganiak <richard@cyganiak.de>, Leo Sauermann <leo.sauermann@dfki.de>
Do you mean that all deferencable URIs of a RDF document should have
their domain name to end with t-d-b.org, so their resolution leads to
the TDB server which redirects to the final location?

On Wednesday, July 8, 2009, David Booth <david@dbooth.org> wrote:
> On Wed, 2009-07-08 at 15:50 +0100, Pierre-Antoine Champin wrote:
> [ . . . ]
>> ok, the solutions proposed here (by myself and others) still involve
>> editing the .htaccess.
>
> Once again, use of a 303-redirect service such as
> http://thing-described-by.org/ or http://t-d-b.org/
> does not require *any* configuration or .htaccess editing.  It does not
> address the problem of setting the content type correctly, but it *does*
> provide an easy way to generate 303 redirects, in conformance with "Cool
> URIs for the Semantic Web":
> http://www.w3.org/TR/cooluris/#r303gendocument
>
> Hmm, I thought the use of a 303-redirect service was mentioned in "Cool
> URIs for the Semantic Web", but in looking back, I see it was in "Best
> Practice Recipes for Publishing RDF Vocabularies":
> http://www.w3.org/TR/swbp-vocab-pub/#redirect
> Maybe it should be mentioned in a future version of the Cool URIs
> document as well.
>
>
> --
> David Booth, Ph.D.
> Cleveland Clinic (contractor)
>
> Opinions expressed herein are those of the author and do not necessarily
> reflect those of Cleveland Clinic.
>
>
>
Received on Wednesday, 8 July 2009 21:09:01 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 1 March 2016 07:42:13 UTC