W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > May 2008

[Public] Re: Managing Co-reference (Was: A Semantic Elephant?)

From: Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>
Date: Thu, 15 May 2008 11:01:59 -0400
Message-ID: <482C5067.9040905@openlinksw.com>
To: Yves Raimond <yves.raimond@gmail.com>
CC: Aldo Gangemi <aldo.gangemi@cnr.it>, Richard Cyganiak <richard@cyganiak.de>, Michael F Uschold <uschold@gmail.com>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@w3.org>, Sören Auer <auer@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>, Semantic Web Interest Group <semantic-web@w3.org>, Chris Bizer <chris@bizer.de>, Frank van Harmelen <Frank.van.Harmelen@cs.vu.nl>, "Fabian M. Suchanek" <f.m.suchanek@gmail.com>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@csail.mit.edu>, Jim Hendler <hendler@cs.rpi.edu>, Mark Greaves <markg@vulcan.com>, georgi.kobilarov@gmx.de, Jens Lehmann <lehmann@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>, Frederick Giasson <fred@fgiasson.com>, Michael Bergman <mike@mkbergman.com>, Conor Shankey <cshankey@reinvent.com>, Kira Oujonkova <koujonkova@reinvent.com>

Yves Raimond wrote:
> Hello!
>
>   
>> Agreed. I do not want to be picky about that: SW is Web, and errors are
>> life.
>> Just there is no need to use owl:sameAs in many cases, and at least in LOD
>> large projects, this can be avoided easily.
>>     
>
> Sorry to jump in the middle of this discussion, but I don't
> particularly agree with that. They are plenty of cases where they
> can't really be avoided, even in LOD large projects.
> For example, http://dbtune.org/jamendo/artist/5 and
> http://zitgist.com/music/artist/0781a3f3-645c-45d1-a84f-76b4e4decf6d
> identify the same artist. One of them in the Jamendo database, and one
> of them in Musicbrainz.
>
> Both databases hold *really* different type of information about these
> artists. Musicbrainz holds detailed editorial information (regardless
> of their publication in the Jamendo Creative Commons platform),
> information about the members of this band and their birth dates, etc.
> Jamendo holds actual audio items, and also a set of tags for each of them.
>
> As an URI is not only an identifier but also a way to access a
> specific representation, how could I use a single URI in this case? In
> other words, how would I avoid the owl:sameAs between the two?
>
> Different data sources make different claims about similar thing, and
> we need both a way to access these claims and to keep the cross-source
> identity. I think owl:sameAs is quite a nice way of doing that.
>
> Cheers!
> y
>
>   
Yves,

I agree.

The ultimate benefit of a Giant Global Graph of Linked Data, is that it 
should  preserve "Individuality" as we pursue or attempt to discover  
"Commonality".

What I say in my Web accessible data space  is simply  "My Humble 
Opinion" (a claim) and nothing more than that. 

The Web will ultimately helps us discover discourse as it becomes more 
structured (imho).

-- 


Regards,

Kingsley Idehen	      Weblog: http://www.openlinksw.com/blog/~kidehen
President & CEO 
OpenLink Software     Web: http://www.openlinksw.com
Received on Thursday, 15 May 2008 15:03:02 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 21:45:22 GMT