W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > May 2008

Re: Managing Co-reference (Was: A Semantic Elephant?)

From: Chris Bizer <chris@bizer.de>
Date: Wed, 14 May 2008 14:27:00 +0200
Message-ID: <009801c8b5bd$cf2fec90$418d2da0@wrz03715>
To: "Tim Berners-Lee" <timbl@w3.org>, Sören Auer <auer@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>
Cc: "Michael F Uschold" <uschold@gmail.com>, "Frank van Harmelen" <Frank.van.Harmelen@cs.vu.nl>, "Kingsley Idehen" <kidehen@openlinksw.com>, "SW-forum Web" <semantic-web@w3.org>, "Fabian M. Suchanek" <f.m.suchanek@gmail.com>, "Tim Berners-Lee" <timbl@csail.mit.edu>, "Jim Hendler" <hendler@cs.rpi.edu>, "Mark Greaves" <markg@vulcan.com>, <georgi.kobilarov@gmx.de>, "Jens Lehmann" <lehmann@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>, "Richard Cyganiak" <richard@cyganiak.de>, "Frederick Giasson" <fred@fgiasson.com>, "Michael Bergman" <mike@mkbergman.com>, "Conor Shankey" <cshankey@reinvent.com>, "Kira Oujonkova" <koujonkova@reinvent.com>, "Aldo Gangemi" <aldo.gangemi@istc.cnr.it>

> This is a great discussion ... would each contributor be OK with the 
> discussion to date being sent to something public so it is on the 
> record?  Like semantic-web@w3.org ?

Fine with me.

> And would someone like to compile a "Story so far".

Or what about somebody just forwarding all the mails that have been 
send to semantic-web@w3.org so that interested people can access 
everything that has been said so far.

Cheers

Chris


--
Prof. Dr. Chris Bizer
Freie Universität Berlin
Phone: +49 30 838 54057
Mail: chris@bizer.de
Web: www.bizer.de

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Tim Berners-Lee" <timbl@w3.org>
To: "Sören Auer" <auer@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>
Cc: "Michael F Uschold" <uschold@gmail.com>; "Chris Bizer" 
<chris@bizer.de>; "Frank van Harmelen" <Frank.van.Harmelen@cs.vu.nl>; 
"Kingsley Idehen" <kidehen@openlinksw.com>; "SW-forum Web" 
<semantic-web@w3.org>; "Fabian M. Suchanek" <f.m.suchanek@gmail.com>; 
"Tim Berners-Lee" <timbl@csail.mit.edu>; "Jim Hendler" 
<hendler@cs.rpi.edu>; "Mark Greaves" <markg@vulcan.com>; 
<georgi.kobilarov@gmx.de>; "Jens Lehmann" 
<lehmann@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>; "Richard Cyganiak" 
<richard@cyganiak.de>; "Frederick Giasson" <fred@fgiasson.com>; 
"Michael Bergman" <mike@mkbergman.com>; "Conor Shankey" 
<cshankey@reinvent.com>; "Kira Oujonkova" <koujonkova@reinvent.com>; 
"Aldo Gangemi" <aldo.gangemi@istc.cnr.it>
Sent: Wednesday, May 14, 2008 2:14 PM
Subject: Managing Co-reference (Was: A Semantic Elephant?)



This is a great discussion ... would each contributor be OK with the
discussion to date being sent to something public so it is on the
record?  Like semantic-web@w3.org ?
And would someone like to compile a "Story so far".

(travelling and unable to really say all I want to say at this point
but the web of multiple overlapping communities of scale-free
distribution is  key to understanding why this works for finite
effort. See "total cost of ontologies" in 
http://www.w3.org/DesignIssues/Fractal.html
  and in http://www.w3.org/2005/Talks/1110-iswc-tbl/ slide 11
So multiple URIs for the same thing is life, a constant tradeoff, but
life is, on balance good.
But we need different systems for people, as for books as fro proteins
because socially the situations are so different. And web science is
about designing tech in the context of the social system you have or
you plan.)

Tim



On 2008-05 -14, at 03:29, Sören Auer wrote:

> Michael F Uschold wrote:
>> [..]
Received on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 12:33:05 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 21:45:22 GMT