W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > June 2007

SAMT 2007 CFP : Deadline extension

From: <samt2007@ge.imati.cnr.it>
Date: Mon, 4 Jun 2007 13:22:10 +0200 (CEST)
Message-ID: <2973.>
To: samt2007@ge.imati.cnr.it

[Apologies for cross-postings. Please forward this mail to anyone



Second international conference on Semantics And digital Media Technology
(SAMT 2007)
Former European Workshop on the Integration of knowledge, semantic and
digital Media Technologies (EWIMT)
December 5-7, 2007
Genova, Italy


The international conference on Semantics And digital Media Technologies
(SAMT) targets to narrow the large disparity between the low-level
descriptors that can be computed automatically from multimedia content and
the richness and subjectivity of semantics in user queries and human
interpretations of audiovisual media - The Semantic Gap.

SAMT started out as two workshops, EWIMT 2004 and EWIMT 2005, that quickly
achieved enormous success in attracting high-quality papers and over 100
participants from across Europe and beyond. Last year EWIMT turned into
the full-fledged conference SAMT, addressing integrative research on new
knowledge-based forms of digital media systems. SAMT brings together those
forums, projects, institutions and individuals investigating the
integration of knowledge, semantics and low-level multimedia processing,
and links them with industrial research and development engineers who
exploit the underlying emerging technology.

In cooperation with the European Commission DG Information Society, the
third day of the conference will feature keynote talks from EC

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Integration of multimedia processing and Semantic Web technologies
* Multimedia ontologies and infrastructures
* Knowledge assisted multimedia analysis and access
* Knowledge based inference for semi-automatic semantic media annotation
* Integration of content-based multimedia analysis with natural language
and speech processing
* Multimodal techniques, high dimensionality reduction and   low-level
feature fusion
* Revelance feedback for finding semantics
* Semantic-driven multimedia indexing and retrieval
* Metadata management for multimedia
* Browsing large multimedia archives
* Scalable, semantic-driven multimedia content adaptation and summarization
* Interfaces and personalisation for interaction with large multimedia
* Social tagging, ontologies and multimedia content
* Semantics-driven multimedia presentation generation
* Context, user, network and semantics-aware media engineering
* Standards bridging the multimedia and knowledge domains

Original contributions should be submitted electronically according to the
instructions that will be posted to the conference web site. The
conference proceedings will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture
Notes of Computer Science series (LNCS). Full papers are expected to be
12-14 A4 pages and should present previously unpublished original results
that are not simultaneously submitted elsewhere. The accepted full paper
contributions will be presented during the plenary sessions and will
appear in the conference proceedings. Short papers are expected to be 4 A4
pages at most. The accepted short papers will be included in the
proceedings as extended abstract and presented as posters during the

Prospective contributors are invited to submit their papers on-line
according to the guidelines at

Information for LNCS Authors at

Submissions will open in May 2007.


20 April      Special Sessions Submission
 4  May	      Notification for Special Sessions
21 May        Tutorials & Workshops Proposals
11 June       Paper Submission
31 July       Paper Notification
10 Sept       Camera-ready Papers

for information, please contact samt07-chairs@ge.imati.cnr.it


General Conference Chairs:
Bianca Falcidieno, IMATI-CNR, Italy
Yannis Avrithis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Technical Programme Chairs:
Michela Spagnuolo, IMATI-CNR, Italy
Yiannis Kompatsiaris, Informatics and Telematics Institute, Greece
Paul Buitelaar, DFKI, Germany

Special Sessions Chair:
Werner Haas, JOANNEUM RESEARCH, Austria

Workshops Chair
Catherine Houstis, Informatics and Telematics Institute, Greece

Tutorials Chair
Noel O'Connor, Dublin City University, Ireland

Technical Programme Committee

Bruno Bachimont, Institut National de Audiovisuell, France
Wolf-Tilo Balke, University of Hannover, Germany
Jenny Benois-Pineau, University of Bordeaux, France
Patrick Bouthemy, IRISA, France
Andrea Cavallaro, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Stavros Christodoulakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece
Philipp Cimiano, AIFB Universitat Karlsuhe, Germany
Fabio Ciravegna, University of Sheffield, UK
Thierry Declerck, DFKI, Germany
Touradj Ebrahimi, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, CH
Christophe Garcia, France Telecom, France
Gregory Grefenstette, LIC2M, CEA-LIST
William I. Grosky, University of Michigan, US
Werner Haas, Joanneum Research, Austria
Siegfried Handschuh, DERI Galway, Ireland
Paola Hobson, Motorola Labs, UK
Andreas Hotho, University of Kassel, Germany
Antoine Isaac, Vrije Universiteit, The Netherlands
Ebroul Izquierdo, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Franciska de Jong, University of Twente, The Netherlands
Joemon Jose, University of Glasgow, UK
Hyoung Joong Kim, Korea University, Korea
Stefanos Kollias, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Paul Lewis, University of Southampton, UK
Simone Marini, IMATI-GE / CNR, Italy
Ferran Marques, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Jose Martinez, GTI-UAM, Spain
Adrian Matellanes, Motorola Labs, UK
Bernard Merialdo, EURECOM, France
Ralph Moller, Hamburg Institute of Technology, Germany
Frank Nack, LIRIS - University Claude Bernard, Lion, France
Milind Naphade, IBM, US
Jan Nesvadba, Philips Research Laboratories, Endhoven
Noel O'Connor, Dublin City University, Ireland
Jacco van Ossenbruggen, CWI Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Jeff Pan, University of Aberdeen, UK
Thrasyvoulos Pappas, Northwestern University, US
Dietrich Paulus, University of Koblenz, Germany
Ewald Quak, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
Fausto Rabitti, ISTI-CNR, I
Andrew Salway, University of Surrey, UK
Mark Sandler, Queen Mary, University of London
Simone Santini, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
Francis Schmitt, CNRS, France
Sergej Sizov, University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany
Alan Smeaton, Dublin City University, Ireland
Steffen Staab, University of Koblenz-Landau, D
Giorgos Stamou, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Vojtech Svatek, University of Economic, Prague, Czech Republic
Raphael Troncy, CWI, NL
Manolis Vavalis, ITI, GR
Remco Veltkamp, Utrecht University, NL
Anne Verroust, INRIA, France
Paulo Villegas, Telefonica I+D, Spain
Li-Qun Xu, British Telecom, UK

You are receiving this email because you have participated in a previous
EWIMT or SAMT related event. If you would like to be removed from the SAMT
publicity email list, please send a message with the word 'REMOVE' in the
SUBJECT LINE. This email should be addressed to: samt07@ge.imati.cnr.it.
You will be removed from this list when we receive your reply.
Received on Monday, 4 June 2007 16:00:33 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 1 March 2016 07:41:57 UTC