W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-xg-lld@w3.org > September 2011

Re: IRIs - proposed resolution - going once...

From: Antoine Isaac <aisaac@few.vu.nl>
Date: Tue, 13 Sep 2011 16:33:12 +0200
Message-ID: <4E6F69A8.7050905@few.vu.nl>
To: Tom Baker <tbaker@tbaker.de>
CC: Karen Coyle <kcoyle@kcoyle.net>, "Young,Jeff (OR)" <jyoung@oclc.org>, "Martin J. D?rst" <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, Andrew Cunningham <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>, Felix Sasaki <felix.sasaki@dfki.de>, public-xg-lld@w3.org, public-i18n-core@w3.org
That's ok with me!

Antoine


> All,
>
> With support from Jeff and no objections, I have committed the edits [1] for a
> paragraph that now reads:
>
>      '''Linked Data'''.  "Linked Data" refers to data published in accordance
>      with [http://www.w3.org/DesignIssues/LinkedData.html principles] designed
>      to facilitate linkages among datasets, element sets, and value
>      vocabularies.  Linked Data uses
>      [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uniform_Resource_Identifier Uniform Resource
>      Identifiers (URIs)] as globally unique identifiers for any kind of resource
>      -- analogously to how identifiers are used for authority control in
>      traditional librarianship.  In Linked Data, URIs may be
>      [http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc3987 Internationalized Resource Identifiers
>      (IRIs)] -- [http://www.w3.org/International/articles/idn-and-iri/ Web
>      addresses] that use the extended set of natural-language scripts supported
>      by [http://unicode.org Unicode].  Linked Data is expressed using standards
>      such as the [http://www.w3.org/RDF/ Resource Description Framework (RDF)],
>      which specifies relationships between things -- relationships that can be
>      used for navigating between, or integrating, information from multiple
>      sources.
>
> Going once, going twice...?
>
> Tom
>
> [1] http://www.w3.org/2005/Incubator/lld/wiki/index.php?title=Scope&diff=6431&oldid=6360
>
Received on Tuesday, 13 September 2011 14:31:47 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 13 September 2011 14:31:47 GMT