W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-wsc-wg@w3.org > July 2007

RE: Update PII editor proposal text

From: Close, Tyler J. <tyler.close@hp.com>
Date: Mon, 2 Jul 2007 17:22:30 -0000
Message-ID: <08CA2245AFCF444DB3AC415E47CC40AFCC3C66@G3W0072.americas.hpqcorp.net>
To: <public-wsc-wg@w3.org>
Hi Mez,
These debugging messages are solely intended for the benefit of the web
site, which can maintain a technical contact if it wishes to receive
these messages.
According to whois, the technical contact for ibm.com is:
I just did a quick survey of the major phishing targets and they all had
technical contacts listed. Note that you have to use the domain name,
rather than the hostname, to get back meaningful information. For
example, ibm.com, instead of www-1.ibm.com.


	From: Mary Ellen Zurko
	Sent: Monday, July 02, 2007 8:14 AM
	To: Close, Tyler J.
	Cc: public-wsc-wg@w3.org
	Subject: RE: Update PII editor proposal text

	> >   "Selecting the provided option sends an email to the
	> contact for the 
	> > hostname." - this seems to call for some support at the
server or
	> protocol level. How 
	> > is the technical contact found?
	> whois lookup of the technical contact
	I suspect that wouldn't work on enterprise owned server. I just
tried to do it myself, but couldn't figure out how (surely Verio does
not own www-1.ibm.com). If you can teach me (perhaps offlist) how to do
this, I'd like to do it for an external and an internal server, to see
if the results are meaningful. (as an aside, I'd be shocked if they
were, since I've just gone through a long internal search to find a
truly responsible party for an issue with an externally facing web
Received on Monday, 2 July 2007 21:48:51 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:14:17 UTC