W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-ws-chor@w3.org > September 2003

Re: Correlation Requirements

From: Monica Martin <monica.martin@sun.com>
Date: Thu, 04 Sep 2003 12:49:28 -0600
Message-ID: <3F578938.3010503@sun.com>
To: "Burdett, David" <david.burdett@commerceone.com>
Cc: "'Francis McCabe'" <fgm@fla.fujitsu.com>, "'Martin Chapman'" <martin.chapman@oracle.com>, "'Yves Lafon'" <ylafon@w3.org>, jdart@tibco.com, "'Ugo Corda'" <UCorda@SeeBeyond.com>, "'Cummins Fred A'" <fred.cummins@eds.com>, public-ws-chor@w3.org


>Burdett: .....However I think this really comes down to what is the basic difference
>between a (business) process and a choreography.
>
>If you are invoking an existing web service as part of a business process
>(e.g. defined using BPEL) then identifying the choreography is not needed as
>the business process is in complete control and knows what messages can come
>back and take the appropriate action.
>
>On the other hand, if there is no single process in control, then you need
>to have some agreed definition - the CDL - which both processes agree to
>follow.
>
>So in the latter case you either:
>1. Need to always use the same choreography - in which identifying it
>becomes unnecessary, or
>2. Recognize that there are multiple choreographies that can be used
>therefore identifying which one becomes essential.
>
mm1: David,
Regardless if that single process has control, that may not alleviate 
the need for a choreography that the process 'participates' in 
(choreography may be larger than this single controllable business 
process).  Thanks.
Received on Thursday, 4 September 2003 14:53:03 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Saturday, 18 December 2010 01:00:30 GMT