W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-ws-addressing@w3.org > October 2005

RE: Multiple Addresses in an EPR

From: Christopher B Ferris <chrisfer@us.ibm.com>
Date: Mon, 17 Oct 2005 18:28:01 -0400
To: <paul.downey@bt.com>
Cc: concahill@aol.com, dorchard@bea.com, jmarsh@microsoft.com, john.kemp@nokia.com, markn@bea.com, mark.little@arjuna.com, public-ws-addressing@w3.org, public-ws-addressing-request@w3.org, Tony.Rogers@ca.com
Message-ID: <OF9F577E07.FFE745F4-ON8525709D.007B45FF-8525709D.007B6946@us.ibm.com>
Amen!

Christopher Ferris
STSM, Emerging e-business Industry Architecture
email: chrisfer@us.ibm.com
blog: http://webpages.charter.net/chrisfer/blog.html
phone: +1 508 377 9295

public-ws-addressing-request@w3.org wrote on 10/17/2005 06:06:32 PM:

> 
> +1. A URI is an Identifier, which is not necessarily a Location.
> 
> 
> -----Original Message-----
> From: public-ws-addressing-request@w3.org on behalf of Jonathan Marsh
> Sent: Mon 10/17/2005 11:05 PM
> To: Conor P. Cahill; Rogers, Tony
> Cc: David Orchard; John Kemp; ext Mark Little; Mark Nottingham; 
WS-Addressing
> Subject: RE: Multiple Addresses in an EPR
> 
> 
> Conor wrote:
> 
> > The spec currently requires that the physical
> > address be carried in a single wsa:Address element.
> 
> The spec doesn't use the term "physical address".  Or "logical address"
> for that matter.  The WG had rather extensive discussions about this
> topic and had in the end to steer clear of defining wsa:Address as one
> or the other.
> 
> AIUI, an implementation is free to use the value of the [address]
> property in the underlying transport (e.g. the HTTP address when using
> SOAP/HTTP), but is not required to do so.  The client may instead route
> the message to a proxy, an intermediary, or perform a catalog lookup -
> all well-known infrastructure for delivering a message correctly to a
> final recipient.  Each mechanism provides value-add to the message
> delivery path (security, robustness, better performance, etc.)
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
Received on Monday, 17 October 2005 22:28:16 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 2 June 2009 18:35:09 GMT