W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webcrypto@w3.org > September 2012

Re: crypto-ISSUE-17: Define the scope and API for custom key attributes [Web Cryptography API]

From: Ryan Sleevi <sleevi@google.com>
Date: Fri, 31 Aug 2012 17:16:33 -0700
Message-ID: <CACvaWvbZux4pxuHE6-wXzufPO=ux=96EukACgLnqcL78FvEDCw@mail.gmail.com>
To: Mountie Lee <mountie.lee@mw2.or.kr>
Cc: Vijay Bharadwaj <Vijay.Bharadwaj@microsoft.com>, David Dahl <ddahl@mozilla.com>, Harry Halpin <hhalpin@w3.org>, Web Cryptography Working Group <public-webcrypto@w3.org>, Mitch Zollinger <mzollinger@netflix.com>
On Fri, Aug 31, 2012 at 5:06 PM, Mountie Lee <mountie.lee@mw2.or.kr> wrote:

> Hi.
> can you suggest how origin authorize keys?
> I'm not clear the authorization process.
>
> regards
> mountie
>

Today, the only way for an origin to access authorize keys:
- It generated the key itself (createKeyGenerator)
- It imported the key itself (createKeyImporter)
- It derived the key itself (createKeyDeriver)
- It was pre-provisioned using out-of-band means that are not specified

IF (and this is still up for discussion) the WG decides to support
multi-origin key access, then, as described by ISSUE-26, it MIGHT support
authorization via keygenerator ( ISSUE-26 -
http://www.w3.org/2012/webcrypto/track/issues/26 )
Received on Saturday, 1 September 2012 00:17:01 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Saturday, 1 September 2012 00:17:01 GMT