W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2013

[webcomponents]: What callbacks do custom elements need?

From: Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>
Date: Wed, 6 Mar 2013 14:05:42 -0800
Message-ID: <CADh5Ky08R+H8YwzrZZw+umCtrhUpJ5hqdWiFJDi2OAUqxfRS7A@mail.gmail.com>
To: public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>
Cc: Daniel Buchner <daniel@mozilla.com>, William Chen <wchen@mozilla.com>, Blake Kaplan <mrbkap@mozilla.com>, Scott Miles <sjmiles@google.com>, Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@google.com>, Steve Orvell <sorvell@google.com>, Hajime Morrita <morrita@google.com>
Here are all the callbacks that we could think of:

* readyCallback (artist formerly known as "create") -- called when the
element is instantiated with generated constructor, createElement/NS
or shortly after it was instantiated and placed in a tree during
parser tree construction

* attributeChangedCallback -- synchronously called when an attribute
of an element is added, removed, or modified

* insertedCallback -- asynchronously called when an element is added
to document tree (TBD: is this called when parser is constructing the
tree?)

* removedCallback -- asynchronously called when an element is removed
from the document tree (except the situations when the document is
destroyed)

What do you think? Anything looks obviously
wrong/dangerous/crazy/exciting? Anything missing?
Received on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 22:06:10 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:57 GMT