W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2013

Inviting your review of IndieUI Events

From: Janina Sajka <janina@concerto.rednote.net>
Date: Fri, 1 Feb 2013 13:54:28 -0500
To: public-webapps@w3.org, public-pointer-events@w3.org, public-html-admin@w3.org
Cc: Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Art Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Charles McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>
Message-ID: <20130201185428.GA9077@concerto.rednote.net>
Dear HTML, Web Apps, and Pointer Events Working Groups:

As you may know, the IndieUI Working Group recently published the First
Public Working Draft of IndieUI: Events technical specification at
http://www.w3.org/TR/2013/WD-indie-ui-events-20130122/

IndieUI defines a way for different user interactions to be translated
into simple events and communicated to web applications. With IndieUI,
web application developers will have a uniform way to design
applications that work for multiple devices and contexts. For a general
introduction to IndieUI, see http://www.w3.org/WAI/intro/indieui.

We believe this work is particularly relevant to the HTML, Pointer
Events, and Web Applications Working Groups. Therefore we would like to
request review from your groups early in the development cycle, rather
than wait until Last Call. In addition to reviewing the Working Draft
itself, input on the requirements is also helpful:
http://www.w3.org/WAI/IndieUI/wiki/Use_Cases_and_Requirements.

The formal comment period on the current draft extends to 22 February
2013, but we welcome input at any time you are able to provide it. You
may send input by email to public-indie-ui-comments@w3.org.

Thank you for your help in getting this technology off to a robust start.

Janina Sajka
IndieUI WG Chair

-- 

Janina Sajka,	Phone:	+1.443.300.2200
			sip:janina@asterisk.rednote.net
		Email:	janina@rednote.net

Linux Foundation Fellow
Executive Chair, Accessibility Workgroup:	http://a11y.org

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
Chair,	Protocols & Formats	http://www.w3.org/wai/pf
	Indie UI			http://www.w3.org/WAI/IndieUI/
Received on Friday, 1 February 2013 18:55:01 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:57 GMT