W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2012

Re: Re: [Clipboard API] The before* events

From: Glenn Maynard <glenn@zewt.org>
Date: Fri, 2 Nov 2012 17:39:00 -0500
Message-ID: <CABirCh-TkMhSD=c7qog2kNVsGFbsBrHZGvcHcBUphzOiMvtrUA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Hallvord Reiar Michaelsen Steen <hallvord@opera.com>
Cc: olli@pettay.fi, sebastian@calyptus.eu, Bjoern Hoehrmann <derhoermi@gmx.net>, Daniel Cheng <dcheng@chromium.org>, Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>, WebApps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Travis Leithead <travis.leithead@microsoft.com>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>
On Fri, Nov 2, 2012 at 10:45 AM, Hallvord Reiar Michaelsen Steen <
hallvord@opera.com> wrote:

> It's not only about the context menu (which could be "scoped" to whatever
> element was targeted by a right-click), it's also about the "Edit" menu or
> the "inline" commands in Chrome's normal application menu. Enabling the
> menu entries all the time breaks with existing UI conventions.
>

But that's the point: if you do this, then a page adding a capturing
listener on window or document will cause all of these things to happen up
for every element on the page, because a capturing listener might affect
anything.  It's the same problem "see if an event handler is
registered"-type solutions always cause.

-- 
Glenn Maynard
Received on Friday, 2 November 2012 22:39:28 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:55 GMT