W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2012

Re: Re: [Clipboard API] The before* events

From: Hallvord Reiar Michaelsen Steen <hallvord@opera.com>
Date: Fri, 02 Nov 2012 09:12:22 +0100
To: "Glenn Maynard" <glenn@zewt.org>
Cc: Sebastian Markbåge <sebastian@calyptus.eu>, "Bjoern Hoehrmann" <derhoermi@gmx.net>, "Daniel Cheng" <dcheng@chromium.org>, "Aryeh Gregor" <ayg@aryeh.name>, "Ryosuke Niwa" <rniwa@webkit.org>, "WebApps WG" <public-webapps@w3.org>, "Travis Leithead" <travis.leithead@microsoft.com>, "Ojan Vafai" <ojan@chromium.org>
Message-ID: <c8d226332daad4791e32c1b0734d151e@opera.com>
  On Thu, Nov 1, 2012 at 5:14 PM, Hallvord Reiar Michaelsen Steen < hallvord@opera.com> wrote: 
>  
The most IMHO elegant solution is what we implemented in Opera: we simply keep relevant menu entries enabled if there are event listeners registered for the corresponding event. This sort of goes against the "registering event listeners should not have side effects" rule, but it's a UI effect the page can't detect so I guess it's ok. 
 

> This doesn't really work when pages put their event listeners further up the tree, eg. capturing listeners on the document and other "event delegation" tricks, right? 
  
Why not? The UA can tell if there are copy/cut/paste listeners registered anywhere in the document. Besides, we have no way to tell whether the author's styling is implementing some faux object focus stuff, so we don't know where the user thinks the focus is.


-- 
Hallvord R. M. Steen
Core tester, Opera Software
Received on Friday, 2 November 2012 08:13:17 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:55 GMT