W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2012

Re: [Bug 19297] New: May user agents apply additional restrictions on entering pointer lock?

From: Florian Bösch <pyalot@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 9 Oct 2012 12:51:14 +0200
Message-ID: <CAOK8ODghS648h8RgeTdp0EB3UGZYy6LRw2_fyUXYVRXrkOT58g@mail.gmail.com>
To: Charles McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>
Cc: bugzilla@jessica.w3.org, public-webapps@w3.org
On Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 12:41 PM, Charles McCathie Nevile <
chaals@yandex-team.ru> wrote:

> - What is the reasoning to switch before user consent?
>>>>
>>>
>  It allows developers to control more of the experience (which they
>>> generally want). Given the price in security for the >>user, I would say
>>> the end is not justified.
>>>
>>
>  I don't understand how it gives more control over the experience.
>>
>
> If the developer doesn't have to wait for user consent, there is one less
> constraint imposed on their control of the experience. They could ask for
> the consent themselves. Or provide a transition effect that they think
> shows the user what is happening, since good UX generally avoids change
> blindness without specifically caring about the security that provides.
>

I see. The usual way to use this feature is to have a small
viewport/element which then expands into a big one. I can't think on top of
my head of a good UX use-case where that is not the case. I don't think you
would lose much if you make the scaling metaphor controlled by the browser
(yes the developer cannot customize it, on the other hand, the developer
does not have to customize it, it's free).

In the same vein I don't see an added benefit for additional confirmation
polling by the application, since the polling to allow comes anyway. It'd
just be two polls in a row, which is bad UX again. On any account, a
developer can still do the additional polling no matter if the confirmation
poll is before or after going to fullscreen.

Lastly, Chrome allows going to fullscreen repeatedly during one session
after the initial confirmation, and firefox allows to go to fullscreen
permanently after clicking "remember this choice", so it's not like an
up-front confirmation poll before fullscreen would severely impact UX of
applications/domains that use the feature a lot.

TL;DR I don't think you lose anything of value if you move the confirmation
to before the fullscreen change and you might just inadvertedly promote
some good UX by doing so.
Received on Tuesday, 9 October 2012 10:51:41 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:55 GMT