W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > July to September 2012

Re: Should MutationObservers be able to observe work done by the HTML parser?

From: Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 4 Sep 2012 22:11:21 -0700
Message-ID: <CAPJYB1iYbe=GB90T6==t80LKKXTzPDJJLfu=1U0KPvx9FvZZ6g@mail.gmail.com>
To: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Cc: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>, Rafael Weinstein <rafaelw@chromium.org>, olli@pettay.fi, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Adam Klein <adamk@chromium.org>, Mihai Parparita <mihaip@chromium.org>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>, WebApps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>
On Mon, Sep 3, 2012 at 8:45 AM, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc> wrote:
> On Mon, Sep 3, 2012 at 1:24 AM, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl> wrote:
>> On Thu, Aug 30, 2012 at 2:18 PM, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc> wrote:
>>> ...
>...
>
> But I'm also not very worried about small differences in
> implementations here as long as everyone maintains the invariants that
> mutation observers set out to hold. Pages can't depend on an exact set
> of mutations happening anyway due to the stochastic nature of parsing.
>

It concerns me to require consistent records for mutations "except in
parsing". While the batches of mutation records might be different
based on when the parser yields, the same records should still be
generated from parsing the same document in each browser. Especially
if you're following the HTML5 parser algorithm...

- E
Received on Wednesday, 5 September 2012 05:12:09 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:54 GMT