W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > July to September 2012

Re: [UndoManager] Disallowing live UndoManager on detached nodes

From: Glenn Maynard <glenn@zewt.org>
Date: Wed, 22 Aug 2012 21:40:14 -0500
Message-ID: <CABirCh-bd0KFOAo+tP_6Y9HhMRvFC31Ot=STQymJ3oSLsjy3Hg@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Cc: Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Kentaro Hara <haraken@chromium.org>, Sukolsak Sakshuwong <sukolsak@google.com>, Adam Barth <abarth@webkit.org>, Ehsan Akhgari <ehsan@mozilla.com>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>
On Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 8:49 PM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org> wrote:

> On Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 5:55 PM, Glenn Maynard <glenn@zewt.org> wrote:
>
>> On Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 7:36 PM, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com> wrote:
>>
>>> Ryosuke also raised the possibility of multiple text fields having
>>> separate UndoManagers. On Mac, most apps wipe they undo queue when you
>>> change text field focus. WebKit preserves a single undo queue across text
>>> fields, so that tabbing out does not kill your ability to undo. I don't
>>> know of any app where you get separate switchable persistent undo queues.
>>> Thins are similar on iOS.
>>>
>>
>> Firefox in Windows has a separate undo list for each input.  I would find
>> a single undo list strange.
>>
>
> Internet Explorer and WebKit don't.
>

The point is that this shouldn't be designed with the expectation that
Firefox will change its undo mechanics to suit it.

While we're probably all biased to think that what we're used to is the
> best behavior, it's important to design our API so that implementors need
> not to violate platform conventions. In this case, it might mean that
> whether text field has its own undo manager by default depends on the
> platform convention.
>

Dialogs in Windows get separate undo for isolated controls by default, so
that's what most applications do.  Many applications also have a single
undo list for whole documents.

-- 
Glenn Maynard
Received on Thursday, 23 August 2012 02:40:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:54 GMT