W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2012

Re: [webcomponents] HTML Parsing and the <template> element

From: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2012 19:22:14 -0800
Message-ID: <CABNRm61fKyaAGCkq9tUuixwYMDhjpaaAr=KcTYk0YkyunAvhOQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Brian Kardell <bkardell@gmail.com>
Cc: Rafael Weinstein <rafaelw@google.com>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Erik Arvidsson <arv@chromium.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Adam Barth <w3c@adambarth.com>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@chromium.org>
On Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 5:20 PM, Brian Kardell <bkardell@gmail.com> wrote:

> Are you essentially suggesting partials?  Basically, one template can
> contain another only by reference?  Then you have something like a
> corresponding tag or macro-ish thing whereby you can reference
> (functionally include) on themplate from another?
>
> That sidesteps the whole nested template parsing pretty nicely and its
> what a lot of logicless template approaches do.
>
I think that's what Adam is suggesting and Erik, Dimitri, and Rafael are
advocating nested templates.

- Ryosuke
Received on Thursday, 9 February 2012 03:23:07 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:50 GMT