W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2012

Re: [webcomponents] Template element parser changes => Proposal for adding DocumentFragment.innerHTML

From: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Date: Wed, 9 May 2012 10:29:42 -0700
Message-ID: <CABNRm63EUwK9i-=HB+Ki2ddy4e7DBqQzMHtGcLLk6i8+w6TTyA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>
Cc: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Rafael Weinstein <rafaelw@google.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Webapps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Yehuda Katz <wycats@gmail.com>
On May 9, 2012 10:26 AM, "Simon Pieters" <simonp@opera.com> wrote:
>
> On Wed, 09 May 2012 19:01:42 +0200, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch> wrote:
>
>>
>> Quick alternative proposal that might work for both <template> parsing
and
>> DocumentFragment.innerHTML:
>>
>>   Have createDocumentFragment() take as an argument a context element.
>>   Maybe also make it a mutable attribute of the object. Defaults to its
>>   owner document's body element or root element or some such. Null means
>>   no root element.
>>
>>     var df = document.createDocumentFragment(document.body);
>>     df.contextElement = document.createElement('style');
>
>
> Or just string with the tag name, so it works the same as <template
context>?

What happens when I pass "a"?

- Ryosuke
Received on Thursday, 10 May 2012 06:23:29 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:52 GMT