W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2012

Re: [webcomponents] HTML Parsing and the <template> element

From: Alex Russell <slightlyoff@google.com>
Date: Wed, 2 May 2012 09:31:15 +0100
Message-ID: <CANr5HFVJH-4ChAZCVcc48h+=14QsH0=hB2r9+8fjGPK4dMVukg@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>
Cc: Clint Hill <clint.hill@gmail.com>, Erik Arvidsson <arv@chromium.org>, Brian Kardell <bkardell@gmail.com>, Rafael Weinstein <rafaelw@google.com>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>, Yuval Sadan <sadan.yuval@gmail.com>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>
What Tab said.

On Tue, Apr 24, 2012 at 5:45 PM, Tab Atkins Jr. <jackalmage@gmail.com> wrote:
> On Tue, Apr 24, 2012 at 9:12 AM, Clint Hill <clint.hill@gmail.com> wrote:
>> Hmm. I have to say that I disagree that your example below shows a
>> template within a template. That is IMO 1 template wherein there is
>> iteration syntax.
>
> The "iteration syntax" is basically an element - the example that Arv
> gave even used element-like syntax, with open and close tags.  That
> iteration element is inside of a template.
>
> If iteration uses a different tagname than normal templating (say,
> <iterate>), thus avoiding the "nesting <template> in <template>"
> problem, you still have the problem of nesting iteration, which is
> *also* a common ability for template systems.
>
> Any way you slice it, common templating scenarios will create problems
> if you don't hook it up to a proper parser at some point.  Might as
> well do that early so you can immediately delve into it with DOM
> methods and whatnot, rather than delaying it and keeping it as flat
> text until the point of use.
>
> ~TJ
>
Received on Wednesday, 2 May 2012 08:32:19 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:52 GMT