W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2011

Re: QSA, the problem with ":scope", and naming

From: Tab Atkins Jr. <jackalmage@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 25 Oct 2011 15:28:54 -0700
Message-ID: <CAAWBYDAHhh-kM2=JAv99trU+w9qYfs+BDo5wAsB0vi5X4N_b0A@mail.gmail.com>
To: Sean Hogan <shogun70@westnet.com.au>
Cc: Yehuda Katz <wycats@gmail.com>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Lachlan Hunt <lachlan.hunt@lachy.id.au>, Boris Zbarsky <bzbarsky@mit.edu>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, Alex Russell <slightlyoff@google.com>, Webapps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, John Resig <jeresig@gmail.com>, Paul Irish <paulirish@google.com>
On Tue, Oct 25, 2011 at 2:33 PM, Sean Hogan <shogun70@westnet.com.au> wrote:
> On 26/10/11 7:51 AM, Tab Atkins Jr. wrote:
>> On Tue, Oct 25, 2011 at 1:47 PM, Sean Hogan<shogun70@westnet.com.au>
>>  wrote:
>>>
>>> I think allowing explicit :scope in findAll() will be perpetually
>>> confusing.
>>> I can imagine someone looking at old code like:
>>>
>>>     e.findAll("div.foo span, div.bar :scope span")
>>>
>>> and asking themselves "what's the rule again? If there's :scope in the
>>> selector then there's no :scope implied? Or was that just on each single
>>> selector? Or is :scope always implied at the start of the whole selector
>>> list and that's why it's explicit in the second part? Dammit, why didn't
>>> we
>>> just use querySelectorAll() if we wanted explicit :scope?"
>>
>> Using :scope explicitly at the beginning of selectors is necessary if
>> we want a sane way to have selector lists chain off of the scoping
>> element.  I'm okay with the string starting with a combinator when
>> it's a single selector like "+ foo", but not when it's a selector list
>> like "+ foo, + bar".
>
> I didn't follow that. Why does findAll() need to support explicit :scope?

Did you not understand my example?  el.find("+ foo, + bar") feels
really weird and I don't like it.  I'm okay with a single selector
starting with a combinator, like el.find("+ foo"), but not a selector
list.

~TJ
Received on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 22:29:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:48 GMT