W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2011

Re: Mutation Observers: a replacement for DOM Mutation Events

From: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Date: Wed, 12 Oct 2011 20:33:33 -0700
Message-ID: <CABNRm616x8eCG94ugcre7DYawH9AHH7rj9gZ2D-Zf8i2jTwApA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Sean Hogan <shogun70@westnet.com.au>
Cc: Rafael Weinstein <rafaelw@google.com>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, Adam Klein <adamk@chromium.org>, public-webapps@w3.org, Olli@pettay.fi, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, rniwa@chromium.org, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, annevk@opera.com, arv@chromium.org
On Wed, Oct 12, 2011 at 8:14 PM, Sean Hogan <shogun70@westnet.com.au> wrote:
>
>  Maybe you can provide concrete examples (i.e. with code snippets,
>> actual instances of use cases, etc...)
>>
>
> Actually, it is the proponents of changing the status-quo and of the more
> complex solution who bear more responsibility for providing these. But if it
> helps, here's a specific example:
>
> MathJax (http://mathjax.org) is a js lib for rendering math in web-pages.
> One feature it provides is converting LaTeX into (typically) a HTML
> representation of the math. It is desirable for the LaTeX source to remain
> available in the document, and MathJax stores it as the content of a <script
> type="math/tex"> element. MathJax provides an API for changing the LaTeX
> source and thus the rendered output.
>
> It might be desirable if MathJax could update the rendering automatically
> in response to changes in the script content. Mutation events would be
> necessary for this. But what is the appropriate way to signal to other
> consumers of mutation events that the math rendering changes are to be
> ignored?


Why do you assume that all other mutation observers should ignore such
changes? If there's a library that's automatically syncing the document with
a server, then such an observer certainly needs to know any mutations that
happen in the document.

- Ryosuke
Received on Thursday, 13 October 2011 03:34:29 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:48 GMT